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TITLE 595. DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY  
CHAPTER 25. WRECKERS AND TOWING SERVICES  

 
595:25-3-1. General requirements  
   The following are the requirements for obtaining an original or renewal of a wrecker 
license:  

(1) License required. No operator as defined by law, regardless of storage location, 
individual shall operate a wrecker vehicle upon any public street, road, or highway of this 
state for the purpose of offering to tow vehicles or the actual towing of vehicles without 
first obtaining from the Department a license as provided in this Chapter. Any wrecker 
vehicle being operated on any public street, road, highway, or turnpike in violation of 
Oklahoma law, or these rules may be removed from service by Oklahoma law 
enforcement officers. Provided that this restriction does not apply to any individual 
towing vehicles owned by the individual or by the entity employing the individual.   
(2) Display and use. An operator's wrecker service license shall be personal to the holder 
thereof and a wrecker vehicle license shall be unique to the vehicle. Each license shall be 
issued only to a person, a corporation, or some definite legal entity. The licenses are non-
transferable and any change in ownership, whether of a wrecker service or wrecker 
vehicle, shall cancel the applicable license. The wrecker service license shall be 
conspicuously displayed at the primary place of business. The license shall be valid only 
at the place of business as shown on the license. Additional or satellite places of business 
shall not be permitted or approved on the same license but shall require a separate 
application and license.  
A wrecker service license shall be issued only to a definite legal entity. A wrecker service 
license is non-transferable. The wrecker service license shall be conspicuously displayed 
at any place of business of the applicable wrecker service. The wrecker service license 
shall be valid for all places of business provided each place of business complies with the 
provisions of these rules.  
(3) Issuance. No license for operation of a wrecker or towing service shall be issued 
untilA wrecker service license shall be issued upon the submission of a completed and 
approved application, provided all the following requirements are met:  

(A) The wrecker operator has a minimum of one towing/wrecker vehicle,  
(B) Certificates of insurance as prescribed by the Department The proof of 
insurance reflecting the minimum coverages for applicable wrecker vehicles are 
on file with the Department,  
(C)(B) Each wrecker vehicle has been inspected by an officer of the Department 
to verify that equipment requirements of this Chapter have been met, and  
(D)(C) Each wrecker operator and driver of a wrecker/towing vehicle has 
successfully completed a minimum of 16 hours of Department approved course of 
training or have a minimum of 2 years of experience on the following:  

(i) Traffic incident management  
(ii) Wrecker vehicle recovery controls  
(iii) Connecting or loading vehicle onto wrecker  
(iv) Tie down and secure vehicle to wrecker  
(v) Wrecker operation safety  
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(vi) Annually complete 4 hours of continuing education approved by the 
department  

(4) Transfer of ownership.   
(A) When applicable, new corporate officers for a wrecker service must comply 
with the licensing requirements of these rules.   
(B) When applicable, new partners in a wrecker service must comply with the 
licensing requirements of these rules.   
(C) When a complete ownership change occurs the wrecker service license will be 
cancelled.   

(4)(5) Carry licenseWrecker vehicle cab card. A copy of the wrecker vehicle 
licensecab card issued by the Department shall be carried at all times in the applicable 
wrecker vehicle for which the license was issued.  
(5)(6) Disposition of wrecker vehiclesDisposition of wrecker vehicles. Any operator that 
removes its last remaining wrecker vehicle from operation will have thirty (30) days to 
have another wrecker vehicle inspected, approved, and licensed or the wrecker license 
issued to that operator will be cancelledAn operator's wrecker service license will be 
cancelled thirty (30) days after the Department receives notice the wrecker service has no 
inspected, approved, and licensed wrecker vehicles in operation.  
(6)(7) Additional wreckersWrecker vehicles. Any wrecker operator that adds a No 
wrecker vehicle shall be used to provide wrecker services until:  

(A) Register theThe wrecker vehicle is registered in accordance with the 
Oklahoma Tax Commissionrules of Service Oklahoma, in the name of the 
operator or the name of the wrecker service, and properly display a current license 
plate is displayed on the wrecker vehicle. A leased wrecker vehicle shall show the 
owner information and the name of the lessee on the vehicle registration. 
Additionally, a wrecker license plate, or a proportional license plate must be 
affixed to the wrecker vehicle.  
(B) Notify theThe Department of is provided the make, model, GVW and serial 
number of the vehicle. This information may be provided through the proof of 
insurance.  
(C) Send notification to theThe Department from the insurance carrier of the 
wrecker operator that is provided the proof of insurance indicating the vehicle has 
been added to present the wrecker service's insurance coverage.   
(D) Have the The wrecker vehicle is inspected and approved by an employee of 
the Department.  
(E) A wrecker license plate, or a proportional license plate, must be purchased and 
affixed to the wrecker vehicle after the vehicle has been inspected and approved 
and before the vehicle can be used by the operator to tow vehicles.  

(7)(8) License number and business name.  
(A) The DPSwrecker service license number issued to the operator by the 
Department for the operation of a wrecker or towing service, along with the name 
of the wrecker service, shall be clearly visible at all times and shall be 
conspicuously displayed and vertically centered on each side of every tow 
wrecker vehicle used by the operator in the wrecker or towing service. All 
wrecker services will display AA or G designation at the end of the DPS wrecker 
service license number. Example: DPS 12345W AA or DPS 12345WG.  
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(B) On each wrecker vehiclesvehicle in use, the DPSwrecker service license 
number and business name shall be at least three inches (3") in height. The font 
shall not be a font which is highly decorative or difficult to read. The lettering 
shall be in a color that will contrast with the color of the tow wrecker vehicle in 
order to be readily noticed and legible.  
(C) The signage required by this paragraph shall be permanent in nature and shall 
not contain any misleading or false information. The wrecker vehicle shall not 
have more than one wrecker service name on the vehicle and not more than one 
DPS license number.  
(D) Magnetic signs are not approved; provided, if requested of and approved by 
the Commissioner or Commissioner's designee, a magnetic sign may be used for a 
period of thirty (30) days in an emergency situation. The Commissioner or 
Commissioner's designee may grant an extension beyond the thirty (30) days.  
(8)(9) Service of notice. Any notice required by law or by the these rules of the 
Department served upon any holder of a wrecker or towing license shall be served 
personally or mailedby first class, prepaid U.S. mail to the last known address of 
such a person as reflected by the records on file withof the Department. It is the 
duty of every holder of a certificate or license wrecker operator, wrecker service, 
and wrecker driver to notify the Department of Public Safety, Wrecker Services 
Division, in writing as to any change in the address of such person or of the place 
of business.  

(9)(10) License prohibited.  
(A) No person under eighteen (18) years of age shall be licensed or employed as a 
wrecker operatordriver.  
(B) No person shall be licensed as aan wrecker/towing service operator or 
employeewrecker driver, or be employed by a wrecker service who has been 
convicted of:  

(i) a felony offense constituting a violent crime as defined in 57 O.S.§ 571, 
larceny, or theft. Felony convictions expunged through deferred 
sentencing will not be considered as convictions; or  
(ii) any provision of Title 21 O.S. §1029 while providing wrecker 
services; or  

(C) No person shall be licensed as a wrecker/towing servicean operator or wrecker 
driver, or be employed by a wrecker/towing wrecker service until completion of 
the sentence for the conviction, including probation or supervised release.  
(D) Any person who is required to register as a sex offender, as required by 57 
O.S. § 582, shall be prohibited from owning or working for a wrecker service for 
the period of time the person is or is required to be registered.  
(E) Nothing in this section prohibits the Commissioner of Public Safety or his or 
her designee from approving, denying, suspending, cancelling, or not renewing a 
wrecker license if it is determined to be in the best interest of public safety.  

(10)(11) One Class AA license per place of business. Wrecker operatorsAn operator 
shall be issued no more than one Class AA wrecker license for any one place of 
business.  
(11)(12) One Class AA wrecker service on Oklahoma Highway Patrol 's rotation log 
in same rotation area. An operatorA licensed wrecker service shall be permitted to 
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rotate no more than one Class AA wrecker service in the same Highway Patrol rotation 
area on the Highway Patrol 's rotation logposition on an Oklahoma Highway Patrol 
rotation log in a designated rotation area. For purposes of this paragraph, "Class A 
wrecker service" shall include those services with a Class AA-TL wrecker vehicle. For 
each designated rotation area, the Oklahoma Highway Patrol may maintain a separate 
rotation log for wrecker services operating Class AA TL wrecker vehicles. A wrecker 
service must request inclusion on both the Class AA and Class AA TL rotation, if 
applicable.   
(12)(13) Business telephone number. Each wrecker service shall have a telephone 
number published that is accessible to the public twenty-four hours a day. The 
operatorwrecker service shall provide in writing to the Department notice of any 
permanent business telephone number change prior to the new telephone number being 
placed in service.  
(13)(14) Business sign. Each AA Wrecker Service and each G Wrecker Service with 
storage shall have a business sign at the business locationwrecker service shall display a 
business sign at the principal place of business. If the wrecker service maintains a storage 
lot at a location other than the principal place of business, the storage lot must also 
display a business sign. The signsigns required by this paragraph shall be at least 2 two 
feet (2') by 4four feet (4') with letters at least 3three inches (3") in height with contrasting 
background and shall display, at a minimum, the name of the wrecker service as shown 
on the license and a telephone number accessible to the public twenty-four (24) hours a 
day.  
(14)(15) Wrecker drivers. Wrecker services shall notify the Wrecker Services Division 
within ten (10) calendar days of hiring or termination of employment of terminating any 
wrecker driver. The wrecker service must submit to the Department, an Oklahoma State 
Bureau of Investigation criminal records check on wrecker drivers, obtained within 
ninety (90) calendar days of the hire date of the new wrecker driver. Notification shall be 
made by email to wrecker@dps.ok.gov.  

  
595:25-3-2. Applications  

a. Every applicant shall file with the Department a written application on a form 
prescribed by the Department and shall tender with the application a fee pursuant to 
47 O.S. §953 in the form of check (business, personal, or cashier), or money order. 
Checks and money orders should be made payable to the Department of Public 
Safety. The application shall be completed using the applicant's legal name and 
include every alias and nickname by which the applicant is or has been known. Every 
applicant shall submit with the application a current original Oklahoma State Bureau 
of Investigation (O.S.B.I.) criminal record check for each individual, partner or 
corporate officer as shown on the application. If any owner, partner, or officer has not 
lived in Oklahoma for the immediately preceding five (5) years, he or she shall 
submit a criminal record check from the agency responsible for keeping criminal 
history in the state or states of residence for the immediately preceding five (5) years. 
Upon the return of any dishonored check the application shall be canceled. Every 
operator requesting to be licensed as a wrecker service must submit the following:  

1. Application. The completed application, as prescribed by the 
Department.    
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2. Fees. The fees prescribed by 47 O.S. §953 must be tendered in the 
form of a check (business, personal, or cashier), or money order made 
payable to the "Department of Public Safety". If payment is returned as 
NSF (non-sufficient funds), the application will be cancelled.  
3. Criminal record check. A current Oklahoma State Bureau of 
Investigation criminal record check for each owner or employee listed on 
the application. If any individual required to have a criminal record check 
has not lived in Oklahoma for the immediately preceding five (5) years, a 
criminal record check from the agency responsible for keeping criminal 
history in the state, or states, of residence for the immediately preceding 
five (5) years must be submitted. The criminal records check must be 
completed within ninety (90) days immediately preceding the submission 
of the application.   
4. Liability Insurance. Proof of valid liability insurance providing 
protection against loss of life, personal injury, and property damage in 
amounts prescribed by these rules and covering all wrecker vehicles to be 
operated by the wrecker service. The policy declaration page shall be 
deemed sufficient documentation of liability insurance and insurance 
provided all required information is included.  
5. Secretary of State Certificate. If the wrecker service is a 
corporation or limited liability company (L.L.C.), a copy of the Secretary 
of State's certificate must be submitted.   
6. Lease agreement. If the principal place of business or any storage 
lot is leased by the wrecker service, a copy of the signed lease must be 
submitted. The lease must be for a minimum of one (1) year and must be 
for the same address as shown on the application.   

(b) Upon receipt and approval of the application, the Department shall assign to the 
operator wrecker service a permanent identification number for all matters relating to the 
approved licensed wrecker and towing service. The Wrecker Services Inspector/Trooper 
will issue a contact report for the operator to present to the Oklahoma Tax Commission 
or a motor license agent for the purpose of being issued a wrecker license plate pursuant 
to 47 O.S. § 1134.3.  
(c) The filing of an application for a license does not authorize wrecker or towing service 
operations by the applicant. Operation The provision of wrecker or towing services may 
commence only after all licensing requirements have been met and proper authorization 
has been issued by the Department.  
(d) The application shall be an affidavit containing the following information together 
with any additional information the Department may require.  

(1) The trade name (business name) of the wrecker service. If the business name 
is registered with the Oklahoma Secretary of State, such registered name shall be 
used. A copy of the Certificate of Limited Liability Company, a Certificate of 
Authority, a Certificate of Limited Partnership, or a Certificate of Incorporation 
from the Secretary of State must be submitted with the application.  
(2) The name of the individual (owner/applicant) or, in the event of a legal entity 
such as a corporation, limited liability company, partnership or limited 
partnership, the names of any two of the following:  
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(A) President,  
(B) Vice-President,  
(C) Another officer, such as Secretary, or the name of the person 
responsible for the day-to-day operation of the legal entity. The legal 
entity shall notify DPS immediately in the event any officer or the person 
responsible should change.  

(3) A statement substantially as follows: "Under oath, I affirm the information 
submitted in this application is true and I further affirm that I have read the rules 
of the Department of Public Safety and hereby agree in good faith to abide by the 
applicable laws and rules governing the wrecker and towing services for which 
this application is made."  
(4) Date of application.  
(5) Signature of the individual applicant or of each company officer, as named on 
the application.  
(6) For each driver, the name, date of birth and driver license number.  
(7) If an officer of the Department of Public Safety or a law enforcement officer 
of any political subdivision may have an interest, financial or otherwise, in or may 
be employed by a wrecker or towing service, the wrecker service shall affirm that 
its sole purpose and only business is to perform repossessions of vehicles which 
are subject to lien and are being repossessed by the lien holder of record, 
operating as a Class G Wrecker. If a determination is made that the wrecker 
service performs services other than repossessions, it shall be grounds for 
revocation of the wrecker license.  

(e) If, within ninety (90) days of receipt of an application, the Department is unable to 
verify all information as required by these rules, the application shall be deemed denied. 
SuchThe applicant may reapply.  
(f)(e) It is within the Department's discretion to disallow the licensing of a wrecker 
operatorThe Department may deny the original application, or renewal application, of a 
wrecker service should it appear, by a preponderance of the evidence, that the identity of 
the business is substantially the same as that of one that is currently under revocation or 
suspension by the Department.  

  
595:25-7-1. Equipment requirements for all Class AA vehicles  
   Each Class AA wrecker vehicle shall be equipped as required by OAC 595:25-5-2.  
  
595:25-9-1. Oklahoma Highway Patrol Rotation Log  
(a) Official Rotation Log. The Department of Public Safety maintains two (2) official Oklahoma 
Highway Patrol Rotation Logs, a Class AA wrecker rotation log and a Class AA-TL wrecker 
rotation log, each of which shall consist of licensed wrecker services for the performance of 
services carried out pursuant to the request of or at the direction of any law enforcement officer 
of the Department [47 O.S. § 72-952 (D)].  
(b) Request for Placement on the Rotation Log. A licensed Class AA wrecker service desiring 
to be placed on the Highway Patrol Rotation Log in the Highway Patrol Troop District in which 
the principal place of business and the primary storage facility of the wrecker service is located 
shall file a written request with the Department, pursuant to paragraph (e) of this Section. [47 
O.S. § 72-952 (D)]  
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(c) Assignment to the Rotation Log. If a request for placement on the Rotation Log is approved 
by the Department, the wrecker service shall be assigned by the Department to the Highway 
Patrol Troop District specified on the request. Both the Troop Commander of the Troop District 
and the wrecker service will be notified by the Department of the assignment of the wrecker 
service to the Rotation Log.[47 O.S. § 72-952 (D)]  
(d) Call Assignment. Oklahoma Turnpike Authority rotation log will be determined, for 
placement on rotation, by using any operatorwrecker service business location within 10ten (10) 
road miles of a gate entry to the turnpike. MustThe wrecker service must be capable to respond 
of responding promptly to the scene, openopening at least one lane promptly, clear and 
cleanclearing the incident sightsite within the shortest time possible. CallsTo accommodate these 
requirements calls will be assigned to the wrecker service nearest in time or distance to the 
incident scene for quick clearance.  
(e) Geographical Areas of Rotation. [47 O.S. § 72-955 (C)]  

(1) The Commissioner's designee offor the Wrecker Services Division shall be 
responsible for establishing geographical areas of rotation within the Troop District to 
which wrecker services on the District's Troop's Rotation Log will be assigned for 
operation when responding to calls for service from the Rotation Log. The 
Commissioner's designee shall notify each wrecker service of the geographical area of 
rotation to which it is assigned.  
(2) The Commissioner's designee will establish each geographical area of rotation based 
upon a reasonable radius from the primary storage facility of each wrecker service 
operating within the geographical area. The reasonable radius will be determined by the 
Commissioner's designee based upon:  

(A) The estimated time it will take the wrecker service to respond to calls for 
service,  
(B) The number of wrecker services available on the Rotation Log,  
(C) Conformity with 47 O.S. § 72-955 (C),  
(D) Consideration of the economic impact of the wrecker services rates and fees, 
as prescribed by the Corporation Commission, on the owner or lien holder of the 
vehicle; and  
(E) Other factors within the Troop District as deemed appropriate by the 
Commissioner's designee.  

(3) The Commissioner's designee may overlap geographical areas of rotation whenever 
necessary to ensure adequate response to requests for wrecker services.  
(4) The Commissioner's designee may modify geographical areas of rotation for the 
Troop District at any time and for just cause, but shall notify each wrecker service 
affected of such modifications as soon as practicable each wrecker service affected of 
such modifications.  
(5) The Commissioner's designee may extend any geographical area of rotation by a 
reasonable radius beyond the boundaries of the Troop District to include a wrecker 
service on the rotation log of the District a wrecker serviceTroop:  

(A) Which is located outside of but in proximity to the boundary of the 
DistrictTroop, and  
(B) Upon receiving notification from the Department of the approval of the 
wrecker service for placement on the rotation log for the DistrictTroop ofby the 
Commander.  
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(6) Nothing in this Section shall prohibit the Troop Commander from using the services 
of any licensed wrecker service:  

(A) Outside of its assigned geographical area of rotation, or  
(B) Which has not been assigned to the Rotation Log of the Troop District.  

(f) Forms. A request for placement on any rotation log shall be filed by the wrecker service with 
the Department of Public Safety on a form prescribed and provided by the Department [47 O.S. § 
72-952 (D)]. When requesting placement on a rotation log, the wrecker service shall provide on 
the request one (1) telephone number to be used for request of services during the day and one 
(1) telephone number to be used for request of services during the night, specifying the time 
period of normal use; these numbers shall also be on file with the Wrecker Services Division. 
Any change in the telephone numbers shall be immediately transmitted to:  
(1) The Troop Commander(s) of the Oklahoma Highway Patrol Troop District(s) Troops on 
whose Rotation Log the wrecker service has been assigned, and  
(2) The Wrecker Services Division of the Department of Public Safety.  
(g) Request for Removal from the Rotation Log. A licensed Class AA wrecker service 
desiring to be removed, whether temporarily or permanently, from the Highway Patrol Rotation 
Log on which it was placed, pursuant to this section, shall file a written request with the 
Department, in the form and format prescribed by the Department. The wrecker service shall not 
contact the Troop Commander(s) of the Troop District(s) for removal from the Rotation Log.  
  
 


