STATE BOARD OF HEALTH OKLAHOMA STATE DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH 123 Robert S. Kerr Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73102

I. Call to Order

Ronald Osterhout called the virtual meeting to order on Tuesday, May 11, 2021, at 1:04 p.m.

II. Roll Call and Confirmation of a Quorum

Board members present via videoconference: Jenny Alexopulos, Charles Grim, R. Murali Krishna, Ronald Osterhout, Bruce Storms, and Travis Wolff.

Board members absent: Tim Starkey, Kinion Whittington

Central staff present via videoconference: Lance Frye, Commissioner of Health; John Clark, Rulemaking Coordinator; Travis Kirkpatrick, Deputy Commissioner, Health Innovation; Jennifer Lepard, Chief Operating Officer; Nicole Nash, Chief Legal Counsel; Keith Reed, Deputy Commissioner, Community Health Services; Jackie Shawnee, Chief of Staff; and Kathie Darr who served as recording secretary.

III. Review, Discussion and Approval of Minutes for the March 31, 2021, Regular Meeting

Storms moved board approval of the March 31 minutes as presented. Krishna provided a second. Motion carried.

Aye: Grim, Krishna, Osterhout, Storms, Wolff

Absent: Starkey, Whittington

Abstain: Alexopulos

IV. Continue Discussion on Board Function

Osterhout initiated a carryover discussion on board function from the March meeting and recognized Frye to share his proposal for utilizing board members in their advisory role capacity. Frye stated that he felt the most useful approach is to engage board members on an individual basis centered upon regional planning needs and areas of expertise. A more intentional but informal process, he said, would be most beneficial to pursuits of the department on behalf of the state. Board members discussed objectives for the August meeting including a review of administrative rules as they relate to board procedure and the need to meet in person via work session format to foster a more functional partnership.

V. Election of Officers

On behalf of the nominating committee appointed at the March meeting of the Board of Health, Osterhout announced the selection of the slate of officers for 2021: *President Charles Grim; Vice President R.* Murali Krishna; and *Secretary* Travis Wolff, and requested a motion to approve.

Alexopulos moved board approval to accept the slate of 2021 officers. Storms provided a

1	second. Motion carried.
2	
3	Aye: Alexopulos, Grim, Krishna, Osterhout, Storms, Wolff
4	Absent: Starkey, Whittington
5	
6	VI. New Business
7	No new business.
8	
9	VII. Adjournment
10	Storms moved board approval to adjourn. Grim provided a second. Motion carried.
11	
12	Aye: Alexopulos, Grim, Krishna, Osterhout, Storms, Wolff
13	Absent: Starkey, Whittington
14	
15	The meeting adjourned at 1:39 p.m.