

Region 8 Trauma Rotation Committee SPECIAL MEETING Tuesday, March 23, 2021 – 5:30 p.m.

Location of Meeting: Microsoft Teams <u>https://teams.microsoft.com/l/meetup-</u> <u>ioin/19%3ameeting YzI5ZTJINmQtZDM0Mi00NGNiLThkYzctMzQwMGYyZTNjNWRI%40thread.v2/0?</u> <u>context=%7b%22Tid%22%3a%229a307864-3e98-4f08-b90a-</u> <u>728b62cf32c5%22%2c%22Oid%22%3a%22463c8334-e408-4d1d-b4eb-52f4b934efe4%22%7d</u> Join by Phone: +1 405-898-0717 United States, Oklahoma City (Toll) Conference ID: 865 827 187#

The meeting notice was filed with the Oklahoma Secretary of State on March 12, 2021 at 8:56 a.m. The meeting notice/agenda was posted on the Oklahoma State Department of Health website for the Region 8 RTAB on March 22, 2021.

MINUTES

I. Call To Order......David W. Smith, MD, Chair The meeting was called to order at 5:30 p.m. by Chair David W. Smith, MD.

II. Roll Call.....Jennifer Woodrow, EMS Administrator There was no physical meeting location with all Committee Members participating remotely via the Microsoft Teams platform shown above. Roll call was taken with the following members present: Dr. David Smith, Dr. Roxie Albrecht, Dr. Chad Borin, Dr. Ross Martin, and Dr. Ryan Wicks. Due to technical difficulties, the following members arrived to the meeting at 5:39 p.m.: Dr. Eric Friedman, Dr. Zachary Hurwitz, Dr. Thomas Lehman, and Dr. John Nalagan. Invited guest who were not present at the meeting included the following: John Adams, Jacob Lovell, and Dr. Ryan Fish of INTEGRIS; Charles Spicer, Rowdy Anthony, Lindsey Lindsay, Dr. Michael D. Martin, and Kris Wallace of OU Medicine; Karyl James of Mercy Hospital; Joe Hodges, Tammy Powell, and Dr. Kersey Winfree of SSM Health St. Anthony; and Dr. Jeffrey Goodloe of EMSA.

III. Approval of Minutes – September 15, 2020......David W. Smith, MD, Chair A motion to approve the September 15th, 2020 minutes as written was made by Dr. Chad Borin and seconded by Dr. Ryan Wicks. There was no discussion and the motion passed 5-0.

- IV. Reports
 - A. EMSA Statistics Report......David Howerton, Division Chief Chair Dr. David Smith announced that the EMSA Statistics Report would be delayed while EMSA transitions their database to ESO alerting.
- V. Business
 - A. Discussion, consideration, possible action and vote to approve recommendation to the RTAB for proposed changes regarding disaster response communication pending review of the Region 8 Trauma plan and established guidelines......David W. Smith, MD, Chair



The Neurosurgery Workgroup last met in September 2019 to determine if the current neurosurgery rotation was meeting the needs of the region and its citizens. After review of the data, the workgroup determined that neurosurgery was still needed in the call rotation and recommended the discussion be revisited in one year. A motion to approve the reformation of the Neurosurgery workgroup as proposed was made by Dr. Roxie Albrecht and seconded by Dr. Ryan wicks. Dr. David Smith proposed the membership of the workgroup to include neurosurgeons participating in the trauma rotation as well as other neurosurgeons within the region. Dr. Smith also proposed the data to be reviewed include the number of neurosurgery transfers within the region and the number of transfers received from outside the region. Members discussed meeting date options choosing June 1, 2021 to allow time to gather data. A motion to approve the proposed membership, data, and meeting date of June 1, 2021 at 5:30 pm was made by Dr. Roxie Albrecht and seconded by Dr. Ryan Wicks. There was no further discussion and the motion passed 5-0.

- F. Discussion, consideration, possible action and vote to approve the following proposed 2021 meeting dates and frequency of future meeting dates.....David W. Smith, MD, Chair
 - 1. Option 1 June 8, 2021, Option 2 June 15, 2021
 - 2. Option 1 September 7, 2021, Option 2 September 15, 2021

Dr. David Smith presented the proposed options noting the meeting date of September 15, 2021 should read as September 14, 2021. A motion to approve the proposed 2021 meeting dates of June 15 and September 14 was made by Dr. Thomas Lehman and seconded by Dr. Ryan Wicks. There was no discussion and the motion passed 6-0. Dr. Smith requested that members begin submitting their scheduling request to Alison Fink from in order to allow her enough time to prepare, distribute, and possibly amend the on call schedule for August through January.

- VI. New Business (For matters not reasonably anticipated 48 hours prior to the meeting) No new business was presented.
- VII. Next Meeting
 - A. Region 8 Regional Trauma Advisory Board April 13, 2021 – 1:00 p.m.
 - B. Oklahoma Trauma and Emergency Response Advisory Council June 2, 2021 1:00 p.m.

VIII. Closing, Adjournment, and Dismissal

A motion to adjourn was made by Dr. John Nalagan and seconded by Dr. Roxie Albrecht. The meeting adjourned at 6:54 p.m.



Dr. David Smith, Chair Region 8 Trauma Rotation Committee June 15, 2021