
TRAUMA FUND:  Recommended Step By Step Guide for PHYSICIAN Application 

****PLEASE NOTE: CHANGES: ALL DOCUMENTS IN APPLICATION MUST BE 
LOADED TO YOUR GROUP’S BOX ACCOUNT BY THE DEADLINE. ***** 

 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 

 

Identify patients to whom you have provided care during the eligible claim 
period, and have entered information into the Trauma Registry. The Trauma 
Fund Claim Form will show ICD-9, in accordance with the authorizing statute, 
however, ICD-10 Codes are required. 
 

Application Package - Checklist for 
submission: 

 Original, signed, notarized MOA
 Electronic copy of Physician

Claim Form in the supplied MS
Excel format uploaded to BOX a Secure
Portal.  Please label your spreadsheet
with organization name and application
period.  NO CD PLEASE 

 Contact email and phone number
for the person completing the
application, printed on electronic
claim form

 Physician list of providers with
license numbers and specialty type listed
on claim, signed by a member of
management or administrator

 Original signed Vendor/Payee Form  
 

Using the Physician Claim Form, list each case and 
all the Primary Injury Codes for CPT, ICD-10 codes 
(formerly ICD-9 codes) that were used in the billing 

of that case. 

Determine which cases are uncompensated 

UNCOMPENSATED COST 
= Medicare Allowable per CPT code 

minus Total Collections per CPT code 
minus Total Contractual Adjustment 

per CPT code 

Not eligible for 
reimbursement 

Balance 
due < $0

For each code, complete the following: 
 Vendor FEI Number
 Physician License Number (not NPI Number)
 License Type
 Specialty
 Trauma Facility Number
 Trauma Registry Number
 Social Security Number (SSN)
 Patient Last Name
 Patient First Name
 Patient Date of Birth
 Date of Injury
 Date of Service
 Date of Discharge
 ICD-10 Code (formerly ICD-9 Code) (Primary

Injury Code)
 CPT Code
 CPT–Code Modifiers
 Actual charges per CPT code
 Medicare Allowable Charges per CPT code
 Contractual Adjustments per CPT code
 Collections per CPT code
 Uncompensated Amount per CPT code
 Primary Payor Source

 Invoice/Account Number (optional) – For your
convenience only, if needed.  In the current
print setting, it does not appear.

Upload to BOX Secure Portal. 
Make sure you keep a copy for 

your own records. 

Complete application package must be uploaded to 
secure portal BOX by indicated deadline. 

Note: 
Contractual Adjustment = Difference 
between the actual and negotiated 
charge for a procedure.  Adjustment 
for non-negotiated governmental 
payor source is zero. 

Do not include in uncompensated 
care any deductible or coinsurance 
that the patient fails to pay unless the 
entity has pursued reasonable 
collection efforts.  Do not include any 
amounts you are not entitled to collect 
from the patient. 

For reference: 
Oklahoma Administrative Code Title 
310 Oklahoman State Department of 
Health Chapter 669. Trauma Care 
Assistance Revolving Fund 

  Providers who never received reimbursement 
from the Trauma Fund must sign and return an 
original copy of the Vendor/Payee Form. 

If you have had any ownership or address change 
within the last 6 months, you must resubmit a new
Vendor/Payee Form to reflect your current status. 

Balance due > $0 – Unpaid, 
collection efforts exhausted 
and written off to bad debt 
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PHYSICIAN GUIDEBOOK 

Physician Claim Form 

• Column A-B:  Enter name of person filling out the claim form.  Include email and phone
number, in case Trauma Fund needs to contact you.

• Column D:  Enter Vendor FEI #, digits only
• Column E:  Enter Oklahoma License # (not NPI number)
• Column F:  Enter License Type (Only DDS/DO/MD accepted.  Do not include any other

medical licenses, they are automatically denied)
• Column G:  Enter Specialty

The following can be retrieved from Trauma Registry: 

• Column H:  Enter Trauma Facility Number
• Column I:  Enter Trauma Registry Number
• Column J:  Enter SSN – Do not use dashes in the number.  If unknown, enter 999999999
• Column K:  Enter Patient Last Name
• Column L:  Enter Patient First Name
• Column M:  Enter Patient DOB
• Column N:  Enter Date of Injury
• Column O:  Enter Date of Service (Must be within application period)
• Column P:  Enter Date of Discharge
• Column Q:  Enter ICD-10 Code (Primary Injury Codes)
• Column R:  Enter CPT-Code
• Column S:  Enter CPT-Code Modifiers

The following can be retrieved from your Business Office: 

• Column T:  Enter Actual Charges Per CPT-Code
• Column U:  Enter Medical Allowable Charges
• Column V:  Enter Contractual Adjustment per CPT-Code
• Column W:  Enter Collection CPT-Code
• Column X:  Enter Uncompensated Per CPT-Code (All zero and negative balances are

ineligible for reimbursement)
• Column Y:  Enter Primary Payor Source
• Column Z:  Enter Physician Invoice/Account No. (This is for entity reference only)
• Column AA:  Enter Anesthesia Codes
• Column AB:  Enter Anesthesia No of Units
• Column AC:  Enter Anesthesia M/C Allowable Rate
• Column AD:  Enter Comments (Optional)
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