

HOSPITAL ADVISORY COUNCIL Regular Meeting Thursday, May 17, 2018 at 2:30 p.m.

Location: Oklahoma State Department of Health building 1000 NE 10th Street, Room 1102 Oklahoma City, OK 73117 Telephone: 405-271-6576

Meeting Minutes

Final

The Hospital Advisory Council Meeting Notice for the May 17, 2018 Regular meeting was filed with the Oklahoma Secretary of State (SOS) at www.sos.state.ok.us/meetings.htm and the Oklahoma State Department of Health (OSDH) at www.mfs.health.ok.gov on November 15, 2017.

The agenda for this regular meeting was distributed and was published on the OSDH website at www.mfs.health.ok.gov on Tuesday, May 15, 2018 and posted on the OSDH basement entrance Tuesday, May 15, 2018.

I. Call to Order

Dr. Heather Bell, Chairman called the meeting to order at 2:31 p.m.

II. Roll Call

Devyn Tillman called roll. The following members were present when roll was called: Dr. Heather Bell, Dr. Jay Gregory, Dr. Dale Bratzler, David Keith, and Scott White, citizen representative, Dr. Darin Smith. A quorum was present.

The following member was absent: Daryle Voss.

Identified OSDH staff members present were: Henry F. Hartsell, Jr., Deputy Commissioner of Protective Health Services; Terri Cook, Administrative Programs Manager, Facility Services Division; Devyn Tillman, Administrative Assistant II, Medical Facilities Service, Diana Wheatley, Administrative Assistant II, Medical Facilities Service.

Identified guests present were: LaWanna Halstead, Oklahoma Hospital Association. Connie Furrh and Shana Branum, First Physicians. John Grady Heller, Facilities Services.

III. Election of Chair for 2018

A motion was made by Dr. Jay Gregory to reelect Dr. Heather Bell for chairman. The motion was seconded by David Keith. Motion carried.

Ayes: 4	Nays: 0	Abstain: 1	Absent: 2	Motion Carried: Yes
David Keith	Aye			
Heather Bell, D	O Abstai	n		
Dale Bratzler, D	O Aye			
Jay Gregory, MI	D Aye			
Scott White	Aye			

IV. Approval of August 17, 2017 Meeting Minutes

A motion was made by Dr. Jay Gregory to approve the August 17, 2017 meeting minutes. The motion was seconded by David Keith. Motion carried.

Ayes: 6	Nays: 0	Abstain: 0	Absent: 1	Motion Carried: Yes
David Keith	Aye			
Heather Bell, D	OO Aye			
Dale Bratzler, D	OO Aye			
Jay Gregory, M	D Aye			
Scott White	Aye			
Darin Smith, Ph	narm D Aye			

V. Reports and Updates

a. Hospital Annual Report – Terri Cook

Ms. Cook introduced Grady Heller, student at Oklahoma University. A lengthy discussion was carried out regarding how the annual report is obtained, how relevant and current it is.

- Information only obtained through Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS)?
- Need more current reports
- State take a leadership role in making the report more public/private data
- State create an annual report of all hospitals
- Last report in 2014.
- Grady will produce a report for the next meeting.

b. Oklahoma Administrative Code 310:667 - OSDH

Discussion was made regarding keeping the 667 current. Suggestions were made to:

- Assign sections to members for review
- Each member familiarize themselves with the 667 with an electronic copy being sent to each member.
- An electronic copy of Condition of Participation document sent to each member.

VI. Continued Discussion of Hospital Advisory Council priorities for 2018 – OSDH

Discussion was made regarding the council's authority and requirements under the statutes.

- Statute be placed on back of agenda for next meeting for review
- Review the responsibilities of this council.
- Meet with Sr. Leadership to get their perspective of how this council's work fits in with the vision and mission of OSDH

VII. Future CY 2018 Meeting Dates

- Thursday, August 16, 2018 at 2:30 p.m.
- Thursday, October 18, 2018 at 2:30 p.m.

VIII. Public Comment

LaWanna thanked council for letting her give her input. Grady Heller will prepare a report to be given out at the next meeting.

IX. Adjourn

Meeting adjourned at 3:45 p.m.

Hospital Advisory Council Meeting Minutes Thursday, May 17, 2018 Page 3 of 3

Approved on Thursday, August 16, 2018 by:

Dr. Heather Bell, Council Chairperson