

# Combined Regions 2/4/7 Quality Improvement Committee Saint Francis Hospital 6161 South Yale Tulsa, OK 74136 June 14<sup>th</sup>, 2018 -10:30 am

# MINUTES

## I. Call to Order

The meeting was called to order by Dr. James Campbell at 10:35 am.

# A. Roll Call

Roll call was taken with the following members present: Dr. Audrey Stanton, Bruce Kelley, Dr. James Campbell, Judy Dyke, Kari Smoot, Melissa Kelly, Phyllis Grady, Ron Morris, Russell Brand, and Russell Martin. The following members were absent: Dr. David Duvall, Dr. Julian Cecil, Kathy O'Dell, and Dr. Mark Damon.

B. Quorum Was met

## II. Approval of Minutes – March 8<sup>th</sup>, 2018

A motion to approve the minutes as written was made by Ron Morris and seconded by Russell Brand. There was no discussion, and the motion passed after unanimous roll call vote.

III. Introductions and Announcements

None

### IV. Emergency Systems Report

Dan Whipple informed the committee Dr.Cathey and Lee Martin has left the agency, Dr. Julie Meyers is the interterm Director. The department is trying to have the cases sent out electronically instead of through the mail, hopefully by the third quarter. Region 1 and Region 3 have sent letters out to the ED managers and the trauma registry department, referencing tracking time from door to decision time to transfer for trauma patients. Dan made a suggestion for the chair and a physician from the committee to sign the letters from the committee that are outgoing to the agencies.

#### V. Consideration of a motion and a vote to enter Executive Session pursuant to Title 25 Oklahoma Statute§ 307 (B)(7) Open Meeting Act for case review to discuss confidential patient records:

Motion to enter Executive Session at 10:51 am by Russell Brand and seconded by Judy Dyke and the motion was unanimously approved.

#### New Cases for review:

2017 08 23 (Dr. Audrey Stanton, Russell Martin)
2017 09 17 (Bruce Kelley, Dr. Julian Cecil)
2017 09 19 (Kari Smoot, Melissa Kelly)
2017 11 34 (Kathy O'Dell, Ron Morris)
2017 11 42 (Kari Smoot, Ron Morris)
2017 12 33 (Bruce Kelley, Russell Brand)
2017 12 34 (Dr. Audrey Stanton, Ron Morris)
2018 01 17 (Melissa Kelly, Russell Martin)
2018 01 19 (Bruce Kelley, Kathy O'Dell)
2018 01 34 (Dr. Audrey Stanton, Russell Brand)

#### Board of Health

Tom Bates, JD Interim Commissioner of Health Martha A Burger, MBA (*President*) Robert S Stewart, MD (*Secretary-Treasurer*) Jenny Alexopulos, DO Terry R Gerard II, DO Charles W Grim, DDS, MHSA Timothy E Starkey, MBA Edward A Legako, MD R Murali Krishna, MD Ronald D Osterhout

www.health.ok.gov An equal opportunity employer and provider





2018 02 11 (Dr. Julian Cecil, Russell Martin)

#### Follow Up Cases:

2017 01 10 2017 03 02

- VI. Consideration of a motion and vote to return to Open Session Motion to exit Executive Session at 12:57 pm by Ron Morris and seconded by Judy Dyke motion was unanimously approved.
- VII. Business (For Discussion and Vote)
  - A. Review and discussion of quality improvement trend indicators of Regions 2, 4, and 7. Dan Whipple gave a presentation over the CQI indicators for the Region. The committee wanted to see more information and different timelines for the next meeting.
- VIII. Public Comment

Lori Strider informed the committee that Rita Johnson, Mike Cates, and JoAnna Delano has resigned from the committee.

#### IX. Adjournment

A motion was made to adjourn by Judy Dyke and seconded by Bruce Kelley. The meeting was adjourned at 1:330 pm.

#### Board of Health

Tom Bates, JD Interim Commissioner of Health Martha A Burger, MBA (*President*) Robert S Stewart, MD (*Secretary-Treasurer*) Jenny Alexopulos, DO Terry R Gerard II, DO Charles W Grim, DDS, MHSA Timothy E Starkey, MBA

Edward A Legako, MD R Murali Krishna, MD Ronald D Osterhout

www.health.ok.gov An equal opportunity employer and provider

