

## Southwest Region (3) CQI Comanche County Memorial Hospital 3401 West Gore Boulevard Lawton, OK 73505 June 7<sup>th</sup>, 2018 - 11:00 AM

#### **Draft Minutes**

- I. Call to Order 11:10 am by David Graham
  - Roll Call
    - **Present:** Dr. David Behm, Jared Cheek, James Lampkin, Kayse Owens, Ryan Sands, Dr. Carolyn Synovitz, Kim Tigert, Megan Toll, Robyn Zalewski
    - Absent- Michael Bolin
    - o OSDH Staff present: David Graham, Dan Whipple, Dr. LaTrina Frazier
  - Quorum met
- II. Review of Minutes: March 1<sup>st</sup>, 2017 Motion to approve minutes was made by Kayse Smith and seconded by Dr. Carolyn Synovitz, the motion was approved unanimously.
- **III.** Introductions, Announcements: David Graham introduced Dr. LaTrina Frazier Administrative Program Manager Home Services Division.
- IV. Emergency Systems Report: David Graham announced that Dr. Cathey has accepted a full-time position outside the agency and that Dr. Julie Myers is the new Service Director of Medical The 2018 protocols have been released with some important updates that include big changes in spinal motion restriction, addition of splinting procedures, urinary catheterization and formulary additions. Upcoming OKEMSIS trainings are June 21, 2018 at Tri-County in Bartlesville from 1000-1600 and July 26, 2018 at OUMC from 1000-1600. Additional activities in other regions such as reviewing bylaws and trauma plans for needed updates. National Emergency Department Overcrowding Score (NEDOCS) and that OUMC, Saint John and Saint Francis are using this internally to try and improve emergency department through put.
- V. Executive Session: Proposed Executive Session Pursuant to Open Meetings/Open Records Act for Confidential Communications to Discuss Patient Record Review. Motion to enter Executive Session at 11:15 am by Jared Cheek and seconded by Ryan Sand motion was unanimously approved.

## New cases for review:

2017 06 20	(Megan Toll, Ryan Sand)
2017 07 11	(Dr. Behm, Robyn Zalewski)
2017 07 18	(James Lampkin, Kayse Smith)
2017 07 31	(Jared Cheek, Dr. Behm)
2017 07 37	(Robyn Zalewski, Kayse Smith)
2017 09 46	(Megan Toll, Kim Tigert)
2017 10 19	(James Lampkin, Ryan Sand)
2017 10 29	(Kayse Smith, Jared Cheek)
2017 11 11	(Kim Tigert, Robyn Zalewski)

#### Board of Health

Tom Bates, JD Interim Commissioner of Health Martha A Burger, MBA (*President*) Robert S Stewart, MD (*Secretary-Treasurer*) Jenny Alexopulos, DO Terry R Gerard II, DO Charles W Grim, DDS, MHSA Timothy E Starkey, MBA

Edward A Legako, MD R Murali Krishna, MD Ronald D Osterhout

WWW.health.ok.gov An equal opportunity employer and provider





**Follow up cases:** 2016 09 18

# **Exit Executive Session**

Motion to exit Executive Session at 12:39 pm by Dr. David Behm and seconded by Dr. Carolyn Synovitz motion was unanimously approved.

# VI. Business:

A. Dan Whipple presented a short presentation of data from 2016 and the first half of 2017. In review of this data the committee was asked what indicators they would like to take a closer look at in reviewing CQI cases. The committee agreed they need to take a closer look at Injury Severity Scores greater than 16 to include door to decision times. To look at times in the region to see if 60 minutes from door to door is reasonable as areas to start looking to review in more detail.

## VII. Public Comment: None

# VIII. Next Meeting Date:

September 6<sup>th</sup>, 2018 @ 11 am Comanche County Memorial Hospital Lawton, OK 73505

**IX.** Adjournment a motion to adjourn at 13:18 pm by Dr. David Behm and seconded by Jared Cheek.

Approved

Ryan Sand Chairperson Region (3) Continuous Quality Improvement Committee June 7, 2018

Board of Health

Tom Bates, JD Interim Commissioner of Health Martha A Burger, MBA (*President*) Robert S Stewart, MD (*Secretary-Treasurer*) Jenny Alexopulos, DO Terry R Gerard II, DO Charles W Grim, DDS, MHSA Timothy E Starkey, MBA

Edward A Legako, MD R Murali Krishna, MD Ronald D Osterhout

WWW.health.ok.gov An equal opportunity employer and provider





#### Board of Health

Tom Bates, JD Interim Commissioner of Health Martha A Burger, MBA (*President*) Robert S Stewart, MD (*Secretary-Treasurer*) Jenny Alexopulos, DO Terry R Gerard II, DO Charles W Grim, DDS, MHSA Timothy E Starkey, MBA Edward A Legako, MD R Murali Krishna, MD Ronald D Osterhout

WWW.health.ok.gov An equal opportunity employer and provider

