

Southwest Region (3) CQI Comanche County Memorial Hospital 3401 West Gore Boulevard Lawton, OK 73505 December 6th, 2018 - 11:00 AM

Minutes

- I. Call to Order 11:02 am by David Graham
 - Roll Call
 - **Present:** Dr. David Behm, Jared Cheek, James Lampkin, Ryan Sands, Dr. Carolyn Synovitz, Kim Tigert, Megan Toll
 - o Absent- Michael Bolin, Kayse Owens, Robyn Zalewski
 - o OSDH Staff present: David Graham, Dan Whipple, Dr. LaTrina Frazier
 - Quorum met
- II. Review of Minutes: June 7th, 2017 Motion to approve minutes was made by Dr. Behm Comanche County Memorial Hospital and seconded by Jared Cheek Air Evac, the motion was approved unanimously.
- III. Introductions, Announcements: David Graham introduced Mr. David Share as our new Survey and Quality Coordinator.
- IV. **Emergency Systems Report:** David Graham announced that Mr. Rocky McElvany is the Deputy Commissioner for Protective Health; Dr. Julie Myers Medical Facilities Director; Dr. LaTrina Frazier as Medical Facilities Services Assistant Director; Ms. Andrea Jordan is Complaints Manager and Ms. Erica Buttman Plan Review Architect. Effective November 6, 2018 an agency cannot submit a file containing more than 200 runs into OKEMSIS. Migration of database will occur: Dates are unknown at this time; it will require a new URL; no runs to be submitted for up to five days. Other regions activities Region 1, CQI letter to ED Medical Directors to have providers track door to decision time for high acuity trauma transfers; going to RTAB for approval; Region 2 Regional Planning Committee revised bylaws; sending to RTAB for approval; Region 3 CQI will review letters to ED Medical Director and Trauma Registrars; Region 4 reviewing stroke plan; drafting STEMI plan; Region 7 Approved use of NEDOCS for the entire region; and Region 8 Reviewing burn data with IMBC and OU Children's' revising bylaws for board member rotation and terms; trauma rotation committee reviewing NEDOCS & unassigned patient definition. Next OTERAC meeting is December 12th, 2018 1:00 pm at OSDH.
- V. Executive Session: Proposed Executive Session Pursuant to Open Meetings/Open Records Act for Confidential Communications to Discuss Patient Record Review. Motion to enter Executive Session at 11:14 am by Jared Cheek and seconded by Dr. Behm, motion was unanimously approved.

New cases for review:

2017 10 16	(Dr. Behm, Ryan Sand)
2017 10 20	(Dr. Synovitz, Megan Toll)
2017 11 48	(Robyn Zalewski, Jared Cheek)
2017 12 03	(Kim Tigert, James Lampkin)
2018 01 14	(Robyn Zalewski, Dr. Synovitz, Ryan Sand)
2018 02 01	(Dr. Behm, Jared Cheek)

Board of Health

Tom Bates, JD Interim Commissioner of Health Martha A Burger, MBA (*President*) Robert S Stewart, MD (*Secretary-Treasurer*) Jenny Alexopulos, DO Terry R Gerard II, DO Charles W Grim, DDS, MHSA Timothy E Starkey, MBA

Edward A Legako, MD R Murali Krishna, MD Ronald D Osterhout

WWW.health.ok.gov An equal opportunity employer and provider





2018 03 10 (Kim Tigert, James Lampkin, Megan Toll)

Follow up cases:

None

Exit Executive Session

Motion to exit Executive Session at 12:39 pm by Dr. Carolyn Synovitz and seconded by Jared Cheek motion was unanimously approved.

VI. Business:

- A. Discuss and vote to approve 2019 meeting dates: Motion to approve dates and times made by Dr. Carolyn Synovitz and seconded by James Lampkin motion passed unanimously.
- B. Review of letter to Medical Directors about door to decision time. Motion to approve made by Ryan Sand and second by Megan Toll motion passed unanimously.
- C. Dan Whipple presented a short presentation of data from June 2016 and 2017. In review of this data the committee was asked what indicators they would like to take a closer look at in reviewing CQI cases. The committee agreed they need to take a closer look at Injury Severity Scores greater than 16 to include door to decision times. The committee still would like to look at times in the region to see if 60 minutes from door to door is reasonable as areas to start looking to review in more detail. The committee also would like to see the data in the whiskers and box format they thought it gave them a better perspective of the data.
- VII. Public Comment: None
- VIII. Next Meeting Date:

March 7th, 2019 @ 11 am Comanche County Memorial Hospital Lawton, OK 73505

IX. Adjournment a motion to adjourn at 12:59 pm by Jared Cheek and seconded by Dr Carolyn Synovitz.

Approved

Ryan Sand Chairperson Region (3) Continuous Quality Improvement Committee December 6, 2018

Tom Bates, JD Interim Commissioner of Health Martha A Burger, MBA (*President*) Robert S Stewart, MD (*Secretary-Treasurer*) Jenny Alexopulos, DO Terry R Gerard II, DO Charles W Grim, DDS, MHSA Timothy E Starkey, MBA

Board of Health

Edward A Legako, MD R Murali Krishna, MD Ronald D Osterhout

www.health.ok.gov An equal opportunity employer and provider





Board of Health

Tom Bates, JD Interim Commissioner of Health Martha A Burger, MBA (*President*) Robert S Stewart, MD (*Secretary-Treasurer*) Jenny Alexopulos, DO Terry R Gerard II, DO Charles W Grim, DDS, MHSA Timothy E Starkey, MBA Edward A Legako, MD R Murali Krishna, MD Ronald D Osterhout

WWW.health.ok.gov An equal opportunity employer and provider

