

Joint Regional Planning Committee Central Region (6) and Oklahoma City Area Region (8) **Trauma Advisory Board INTEGRIS Southwest Medical Center** 4401 S. Western Avenue Oklahoma City, OK 73109 April 12th, 2016 9:30 a.m.

MINUTES

I. **Call To Order**

The meeting was called to order by Region 8 Regional Planning Committee (RPC) Chair Brad Smith at 9:34 a.m.

II. Roll Call

The roll call was taken for Region 8 with the following members present: Brad Smith (Community Hospital); David Howerton (Office of the Medical Director); Jennifer McGuire (McBride Orthopedic Hospital); and Renae Kirkhart (OUMC). Larry Terry (AllianceHealth Midwest) was absent.

The Region 6 roll call was taken with the following members present: Valerie Austin, Jason Likens, and Eddie Sims. The following Region 6 members were absent: Celesa Green, Max Punneo, and Greg Reid. The following guests were in attendance: Renae Kirkhart (OU Medical Center); Jennifer McGuire (McBride); Briton Stall (INTEGRIS); Rachael Howard (St. Anthony Shawnee); Chancen Flick (AHA); Tela Brown (INTEGRIS Southwest Medical Center); Michele Starr (INTEGRIS Baptist Medical Center); Tom Gremling (Norman Regional Health System); Angie Heigle (INTEGRIS Health Edmond): Mary Pinzon (INTEGRIS): Kathy Stillwell (INTEGRIS Southwest Medical Center); Pam Deal (St. Anthony Shawnee); and Cindy Moore (OU Medical Center)

III. **Approval of Minutes**

A motion was made by David Howerton to approve the Region 8 minutes and was seconded by Jennifer McGuire. The motion passed unanimously. A motion was made by Jason Likens that was seconded by Eddie Sims to approve the Region 6 minutes as written. The motion passed with a unanimous roll call vote.





IV. Business

A. Planning for Stroke triage and transport

The meeting began with a statement from the Chair regarding the appropriateness of discussing stroke care at Regional Trauma Advisory Board meetings. The comment brought much discussion from members of the audience and options for future venues. Brandon Bowen (OSDH) then provided a review of the components of a trauma plan and discussed how many of the same components would be included within a stroke plan. For further emphasis, Mr. Bowen provided an example of a draft stroke plan. Questions were raised about the fast pace which changes can occur and how those changes can be best shown in the plan. Options discussed included utilizing EMResource as an official list of hospital and pre-hospital capabilities. Another question from the audience asked if the Trauma Referral Center (TReC) could be utilized for stroke patients as well. While TReC could assist with stroke patients, there is concern about the current financial situation and being able to fund the program. Dr. Morgan (INTEGRIS Southwest Medical Center) discussed the importance of a stroke patient receiving intravenous thrombolytics, computerized tomography angiogram, and intra-arterial treatment or the ability to transfer the patient to a facility that can perform those procedures. There was brief mention of stroke patient triage tools including the use of Alberta Stroke Program Early CT Score (ASPECTS) and the National Institute of Health Stroke Scale (NIHSS). Discussion then turned to the stakeholders that should be present during a working group meeting. They key stakeholders identified were: Valerie Austin, Eddie Sims, Dr. Morgan, Dr. Gordon, Dr. Zubair, Dr. Mikawa, David Howerton, Kathy Stillwell, Tom Gremling, and Courtney Stark. The newly formed working group agreed to meet on May 11th, 2016 at 5:30 p.m.

B. Bylaw alignment for CQI attendance requirements – Vote to amend Eddie Sims related his desire to align Region 6 and Region 8 bylaws regarding Continuous Quality Improvement (CQI) attendance as both Regions have a joint CQI committee. The proposed language added the phrase "shall be removed after he/she misses three consecutive scheduled meetings." to the existing language. A motion was made by Renae Kirkhart and seconded by David Howerton to forward the language to RTAO for incorporation into the bylaws. The motion







passed with a unanimous roll call vote.

٧. **Public Comment**

Renae Kirkhart (OUMC) requested that Rochelle Rumford (OUMC) be added to the Region 8 Continuous Quality Improvement committee. The vote will be added to the next Region 8 RTAB agenda if it pleases the Chair.

VI. Adjournment

A motion was made by David Howerton to adjourn that was seconded by Jason Likens. The meeting adjourned at 11:55 a.m.



Ronald Woodson, MD

President

Jenny Alexopulos, DO Terry R Gerard, DO

Board of Health

	MEMBER	1Q	2Q	3Q	4Q	YTD
	Austin, Valerie	Х	Х			
	Green, Celesa	Х	А			
	Likens, Jason	Х	Х			
	Punneo, Max	Α	Α			
	Reid, Greg	X	Α			
	Sims, Eddie	Х	Х			
	QUORUM MET	 Ү N	 Y N	о о о о о о о о о о о о о о о о о о о	 Y N	