

Oklahoma State Department of Health

Creating a State of Health

Tulsa Region (7) Regional Trauma Advisory Board OSU Medical Center 744 West 9th Street Tulsa, OK 74127 January 16th, 2018 – 1:00 pm

MINUTES

- I. Call to Order The meeting was called to order at 1:03 pm by Chair Kathy O'Dell
- II. Roll Call Roll Call by verbal response with quorum met. See attached roster

III. Introductions and Announcements None

IV. Approval of Minutes – October 3rd, 2017: A motion was made by Mark Blubough, D.O. and seconded by K. C. Nickels. A roll call vote was taken, and the motion passed 15-0.

V. Reports

- A. Emergency Systems Report Dan Whipple
 - 1. Ethan Barstow was introduced to the group. Mr. Barstow will be EMS Administrator assigned to the Region 7 RTAB.
 - 2. The Trauma Fund Activity Timeline was discussed and a handout provided to all present. Contact Marva Williamson with any questions.
 - 3. Dr. Stewart has scheduled Trauma Registry training in Tulsa at the OU Schusterman Center on February 15th, 2018. If you have someone that needs this training contact Dr. Stewart.
 - 4. The OKEMSIS version two website is closed but you can still access version two data through Report Writer the current version. If you have issues contact Mr. Martin Lansdale.
 - 5. The Oklahoma Trauma Emergency Response Advisory Council (OTERAC) meeting on December 6th, 2017 was cancelled.
 - 6. Dan Whipple presented information regarding EMResource air ambulance position services, including instructions on how to use the system.
 - 7. Dan Whipple presented four of the Quality Improvement trending indicators. The goal is to move away from pure case reviews and concentrate on improving these indicators.
- B. Regional Committee Quarterly Activity Reports
 - 1. Quality Improvement Committee The committee is moving away from case reviews.
 - 2. Regional Planning Committee
 - a. Nothing to report; the committee did not meet.
 - b. Kathy O'Dell noted that the committee has not met in at least the last four quarters. She proposed a meeting of the committee be held at before the next Region 7 RTAB meeting on March 7th, 2018. She also proposed that new members be added to the committee and solicited volunteers to submit their names to Mr. Barstow in time to add them to the next RTAB meeting's agenda.
 - 3. Metropolitan Medical Response System Johnna Easley stated that she had nothing to report.
- C. Trauma Referral Center (TRec) Quarterly Activity Report Lisa Fitzgerald presented information on the origin and purpose of the Trauma Referral Center and provided instructions on how to utilize the system.

	<u> </u>	Board of Health		VI. Business
Tom Bates Interim Commissioner of Health	Martha A Burger, MBA (President) Robert S Stewart, MD (Secretary-Treasurer)	Jenny Alexopulos, DO	Timothy E Starkey, MBA	www.health.ok.gov
		Terry R Gerard II, DO	Edward A Legako, MD	An equal opportunity
		Charles W Grim, DDS, MHSA	R Murali Krishna, MD	employer and provider

Oklahoma State Department of Health

Creating a State of Health

- A. After a motion from Melissa Kelly, seconded by Dee Crookham, the board voted to add Dr. Audrey Stanton, Russell Martin and Kari Smoot to the Quality Improvement Committee. The vote passed 14-0.
- B. Kari Smoot discussed procedural updates for the St. Francis Hospital Trauma Emergency Center. The facility is now using a "silent minute" procedure. Receiving facility staff will remain silent during the report from the EMS agency medic. Medics should speak loud enough for everyone to hear. After their report is given they should leave the area.

VII. Presentation

A. Trauma Referral Presentation - was given during the quarterly report.

VIII. Public Comment None

- A. The board was asked if it had oversight of Mass Casualty Incident training. It does not, and the individual was introduced to the MMRS Coordinator.
- B. Bruce Kelley advised the board of concerns regarding a patient that requested transport to a different hospital after arrival in the Emergency Department but before transfer of care.
- C. Taylor Hargrove resigned from the RTAB. Nominations for his replacement as secretary of the board were solicited to be voted upon at the second quarter meeting. Melissa Kelly was nominated.

IX. Next Meeting

- A. Oklahoma Trauma and Emergency Response Advisory Council Oklahoma State Department of Health 1000 Northeast 10th Street Oklahoma City, OK 73117 March 7th, 2018 – 1:00 pm
- B. Quality Improvement Committee Regions 2/4/7 Saint John Medical Center 1819 East 19th Street Tulsa, OK 74104 March 8th, 2018 – 10:30 am
- Regional Trauma Advisory Board Saint Francis South 10501 East 91st Street Tulsa, OK 74133 April 17th, 2018 – 1:00 pm

X. Adjournment

A. Motion to adjourn made by Kenneth Nickels and Seconded by Teresa Compos. The meeting adjourned at 2:10 pm

Approved

Kathy O'Dell Chairperson Region (7) Trauma Advisory Board January 16th, 2018

Board of Health

Martha A Burger, MBA (President) Robert S Stewart, MD (Secretary-Treasurer) Jenny Alexopulos, DO Terry R Gerard II, DO Charles W Grim, DDS, MHSA Timothy E Starkey, MBA Edward A Legako, MD R Murali Krishna, MD

www.health.ok.gov An equal opportunity employer and provider



REGIONAL TRAUMA ADVISORY BOARD

ATTENDANCE

MEMBER	REPRESENTATIVE	1Q	2Q	3Q	4Q	YTD
AIR EMS, INC	Brian Howell	Α			•	0
	Justin Graves					
AIR EVAC LIFETEAM	Judy Dyke	А				0
	Mark Forrest					
AMG SPECIALTY HOSPITAL OF TULSA	Patrick Waffle	А				0
	Kelly Rose					
BAILEY MEDICAL CENTER OWASSO	Brandi McManus	Х				100
BROKEN ARROW FIRE DEPARTMENT	Vicki Hammons	V				100
BROKEN ARROW FIRE DEPARTIVIENT	Ryan Lawson Kenneth Nickels	Х				100
BROOKHAVEN HOSPITAL	Debbie Jones	Х				100
BROOK IAVENNOSI IIAL	Heather Dudley	Λ				100
COLINSVILLE FIRE DEPARTMENT	Harold Call	Х				100
	Julian Miller					
CREEK COUNTY EMERGENCY AMBULANCE SERVICE	Taylor Hargrove	Х				100
DISTRICT						
	Joe McGill					
EIVISA - EAST DIVISION		Х				100
	Mike Kisler					
HILLCREST HOSPITAL SOUTH	Deborah Eason	Х				100
	Russell Anderson	V				100
HILLCREST MEDICAL CENTER	Jeff Dixon, MD	Х				100
LAUREATE PSYCHIATRIC CLINIC & HOSPITAL	Lindy Bauer Deborah Davidson	Х				100
	Kurt VanMatre	^				100
MEDICAL CONTROL BOARD	Dr. Jeffrey Goodloe	Х				100
		~				100
MERCY REGIONAL EMS OF OKLAHOMA	Brian Cook	Х				100
	Brianne Smedley					
MILLER EMS	Ed Martin	А				0
	Kyle Evans					
OKLAHOMA SURGICAL HOSPITAL	Valerie Ballenger	А				0
	C.J. Daily					
OSU MEDICAL CENTER	Mark Blubough, D.O.	Х				100
	Shelly Prince	V				100
OWASSO FIRE DEPARTMENT	Matt Nicholson Bruce Kelley	Х				100
PARKSIDE PSYCHIATRIC HOSPITAL & CLINIC	Darren Sanchez	Х				100
	Kelly Gibson	~				100
PINNACLE SPECIALTY HOSPITAL	Mark Cravens	А				0
	Frank Thompson					
POST ACUTE MEDICAL REHABILITATION HOSPITAL OF	Patrick Waffle	А				0
TULSA						
	Crystal Yancey					

Crystal Yancey

REGIONAL TRAUMA ADVISORY BOARD

ATTENDANCE

7

POST-ACUTE MEDICAL SPECIALTY HOSPITAL	Jim Gilbert	Α	0
	Phyllis Moore		
REGION 7 RIMRS/MERC	Johna Easley	Х	100
SAINT FRANCIS HOSPITAL	Kari Smoot	Х	100
	David Duvall		
SAINT FRANCIS HOSPITAL SOUTH	Dee Crookham	Х	100
	Adrienne Harjo		
SAINT JOHN MEDICAL CENTER	Kathy O'Dell	Х	100
	Tammy Cox		
SAINT JOHN OF BROKEN ARROW	Wendy VanMatre	Х	100
	Theresa Compos		
SAINT JOHN OF OWASSO	Melissa Kelly	Х	100
	Dan Hall		
SELECT SPECIALTY HOSPITAL	Dawn Goetz	А	0
SHADOW MOUNTAIN HOSPITAL	Jolene Ring	Х	100
	Gaylen Geiger		
SKIATOOK FIRE DEPARTMENT	James L. Annas Jr.	Х	100
	Robert Nail		
SOUTHWESTERN REGIONAL MEDICAL CENTER	Keith Mateychick	А	0
TULSA LIFE FLIGHT	Evie Steenhoek	А	0
	Jamie Edwards		
TULSA SPINE AND SPECIALTY HOSPITAL	Paul Vlanich	А	0