

Tulsa (Region 7) Regional Trauma Advisory Board St. John Medical Center 1923 S. Utica Avenue Tulsa, OK

> January 17, 2017 – 1:00 P.M. Minutes

- I. Call to Order: Meeting called to order at 1:01 P.M. by Kathy O'Dell
- II. Roll Call: Roll call by verbal response Quorum met
- III. Introductions and Announcements: None
- IV. Approval of Minutes October 4, 2016: Motion made by Tammy Cox, St. John Medical Center and Seconded by Brett Copple Mercy Regional EMS. Roll call vote, motion passed

## V. Reports

- A. Emergency Systems Report: Daniel Whipple
  - 1. Introduced Mr. Sam Curatola as our new EMS Administrator, Ms. Darlene Alexander new Administrative Assistant and Ms. Xana Howard Statistical Research.
  - 2. No Emergency Systems Report you will receive an annual report. .
  - 3. Any questions about Trauma Registry please contact Kenneth Stewart.
  - 4. Any questions about OKEMSIS contact Martin Lansdale. Also report writer is working now so you can run reports now.
  - 5. Reminded EMS Agencies the new EMS Rules went into effect September 11, 2016 and that it is available online.
  - 6. Advised Agencies that might be interested or know of agencies interested in Naloxone training for the state to contact Himself or David Graham so we can assist in getting them the training.
  - 7. Oklahoma Trauma and Emergency Response Advisory meeting will be Wednesday March 1, 2017 at the OSDH office.
- B. Regional Planning Sub-Committee Report: Did not meet they have no report.
- C. CQI Sub-Committee: Heather Booher presented four CQI cases from Region 2, 4 and 7. Ms. Booher encourages audience participation. Three of the cases did not follow the trauma plan for their respective region. The fourth case did follow the trauma plan for their region and received a good job letter.
- D. Metropolitan Medical Response System: Johna Easley No report

## VI. Business:

- A. Vote to approve Russell Martin Secretary Treasurer.
- B. Vote to approve Taylor Hargrove to the Regional Planning Committee
- C. Vote to approve Dr. David Duvall MD and Phyllis Grady to CQI Committee

Terry L Cline, PhD Commissioner of Health Secretary of Health and Human Services Martha A Burger, MBA *President* Jenny Alexopulos, DO Terry R Gerard, DO

Cris Hart-Wolfe *Vice President* Charles W Grim, DDS, MHSA R Murali Krishna, MD

Board of Health

Robert S Stewart, MD Secretary - Treasurer Timothy E Starkey, MBA Ronald Woodson, MD 1000 NE 10™ Street Oklahoma City, OK 73117-1207 www.health.ok.gov An Equal Opportunity Employer





Committee agreed to combine items A, B and C into a slate vote. Motion made by Melissa Kelly St. John Owasso and seconded by Wendy VanMatre from St. John Broken Arrow. Roll call Vote motion passed.

D. Discuss Goals for 2017.

1. Sepsis: committee discussed this as part of the time sensitive matters. It was recommended to refer this back to the Regional Planning Committee to see if the committee needs to pursue this issue. It was also suggested that the Regional Planning Committees for 2, 4 and 7 together to work on a plan. The committee suggested that if anyone that would like be champion this discussion or know of someone that would like to champion this cause. Look at pre – hospital recognition and treatment.

2. Field Amputation: Committee would like to see data about how often this happens before they look further into this area. Region 3 has a team set up for this but was championed by a surgeon that supplied the surgical equipment and is willing to come up and meet with a team of people if we can get a physician to champion for this region.

- VII. Public Comment: Michelle Steele from Genentech talked about OTERAC Stroke working group tomorrow in Oklahoma City at the Heart Association and asked all planning on attending to let her know so they could get an accurate count for food.
- VIII. Next Meeting:

RTAB – April 4, 2017 Hillcrest Hospital South 8801 S. 101<sup>st</sup> East Avenue Tulsa, OK

RPC – As Called

CQI – Region 2/4/7 March 9, 2017 St. John Medical Center 1819 East 19<sup>th</sup> Street Tulsa, OK

IX. Adjournment: Motion made by Wendy VanMatre St. John Broken Arrow and Seconded by Melissa Kelly St. John Owasso at 2:56 P.M.

Х

Kathy O'Dell Chair

> Terry L Cline, PhD Commissioner of Health Secretary of Health and Human Services

Martha A Burger, MBA *President* Jenny Alexopulos, DO Terry R Gerard, DO Cris Hart-Wolfe *Vice President* Charles W Grim, DDS, MHSA R Murali Krishna, MD

Board of Health

Robert S Stewart, MD Secretary - Treasurer Timothy E Starkey, MBA Ronald Woodson, MD 1000 NE 10™ Street Oklahoma City, OK 73117-1207 www.health.ok.gov An Equal Opportunity Employer

