Oklahoma Department of Labor



REMINDER / RE-ISSUE OF POLICY CLARIFICATION

RE-ISSUE DATE: January 25, 2023 (Includes additional information from the original issue.)

ORIGINAL ISSUE DATE: MARCH 1, 2022

RE: POLICY CLARIFICATION REGARDING REPAIR, SERVICE, INSTALL LICENSE APPLICATIONS [Oklahoma Administrative Rules 380:25-13-1 (a) and (b)]

Effective March 1, 2022:

- 1. Applications for a Repair, Service, Install *Company license* do not require an examination or questionnaire (other than the two-page application.) Such company applications still require approval from the ODOL Chief Inspector or his designee.
- 2. Individuals/employees engaged in the repair, service, and/or installation of boilers or pressure vessels must be licensed (This is in addition to the company license that is currently required for the company/employer by Oklahoma Administrative Code.) However, unlicensed persons may assist in the repair, service, and installation of boilers and pressure vessels when working under the direct, on-site supervision of a licensed individual.
- 3. Applications for a Repair, Service, Install *individual license* require the individual to take an examination administered in person by an ODOL inspector. Examinations will be administered at the ODOL office on the same dates/times as the Boiler Operator examinations (four times a year,) or arrangements may be made for an inspector to administer the test at a place and time agreed upon with the applicant(s).
- 4. Testing/Examination information:
 - Tests must be scheduled in advance. Tests are administered on the first
 Tuesday of February, May, August, and November. Contact ODOL to schedule a
 time for the test. Send an email to odolboilers@labor.ok.gov or call 405-5216220.

Testing/Examination information, continued

- There is a \$25 testing fee, payable prior to testing.
- The exams are all "open-book" type and specific to the type of installations performed (Section I, Section IV, Section VIII; there is a separate test for each type.)
- Exams are all multiple choice and require a score of 80% or better to pass.
- ODOL inspector will grade the test immediately after it is completed and notify applicant of the results.
- If an applicant fails the examination, he/she must wait at least 30 days to re-take the exam.
- Items needed for testing include a completed application; picture ID; and code books (optional).
- Study materials for all tests include: NBIC Part 1; Oklahoma Boiler and Pressure Vessel Safety Act

NOTE: This policy change only affects the Repair, Service, Install licenses issued by ODOL. Boiler Operator licenses are not affected.

If you have questions, contact: Jim Williams, Director

Safety Standards Division Office: 405-522-5371 Cell: 405-249-1769

Email: james.williams@labor.ok.gov