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The mission of the Oklahoma Department of Human Services is to help 
individuals and families in need help themselves lead safer, healthier, 
more independent and productive lives.

Historical Information

In November 2011, an article in The Daily Oklahoman indicated The Oklahoma 
Commission on Children and Youth (OCCY) reviewed 10 cases involving 
newborns or mothers who tested positive or self-reported illicit drug use at the 
time of the newborn’s birth.  Eight of the 10 babies died of subsequent neglect or 
abuse within an average of 6.5 months.  These findings prompted OCCY to convene 
a subcommittee of professionals to review the current practices of the Oklahoma 
Department of Human Services (OKDHS) in response to reports of newborns 
born substance exposed.  OCCY also provided information from Section 1-5 of 
Title 63 of the Oklahoma Statutes that requires OKDHS to prepare an annual 
report regarding newborns born exposed to alcohol and other harmful substances.  
OKDHS has not published this data in the past.  
OKDHS was asked to provide the OCCY subcommittee information regarding 
current policies and procedures related to newborns born exposed to alcohol and 
other harmful substances and any information on the ability to collect the data 
required by state Statues.  In December 2011, OKDHS presented the requested 
information to the subcommittee. OKDHS has the ability within the Statewide 
Automated Child Welfare Information System (SACWIS) to collect the data; 
however, the data has not been routinely entered.

     The Subcommittee at OCCY

The subcommittee held monthly meetings. 
Information was gathered regarding current 
medical practices that determine when a 
newborn is tested for illegal substances and the 
typical response from OKDHS to a report of 
abuse or neglect. The Oklahoma Department of 
Mental Health and Substance Abuse Services 
(DMHSAS) provided information on the 
different types of treatment and the availability 
of inpatient beds in Oklahoma. The Oklahoma 
State Department of Health (OSDH) provided 
statistical data collected through the Pregnancy 
Risk Assessment Monitoring System (PRAMS).
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What is Known About Oklahoma

The information available in Oklahoma for 
newborns born substance abuse exposed 
is limited.  The preliminary number of live 
births for 2011 is 50,672. SoonerCare covers 
approximately 32,000 births annually. 
PRAMS information collected in 2009 indicates 
that one in five mothers smoked while they 
were pregnant.  PRAMS data from 2004 to 2008 
indicates the overall use of alcohol during the last 
three months of pregnancy is 4.86 percent.  
OKDHS data for all children removed during 
SFY, indicates that 34.4 percent had substance 
abuse as a contributing factor.   
Currently there is a waiting list in Oklahoma for 
inpatient treatment; however, pregnant women are moved to the top of the waiting 
list.  Current available resources for pregnant women and children are: 

•	 SoonerStart	for	children	under	three	years	of	age
•	 A	Better	Chance	Clinic	at	the	University	of	Oklahoma	Health	Sciences	

Center	(OUHSC)
•	 SmartStart
•	 Children	First
•	 Preparing	for	a	Lifetime
•	 Start	Right
•	 Parents	as	Teachers
•	 SoonerQuit,	tobacco	cessation	program

OKDHS has substance abuse services available through the Temporary Assistance 
to Needy Families (TANF) program.  OKDHS Child Welfare Services (CWS) Child 
Protective Services (CPS) staff may access services for families.
Turning Point has community partnerships in Oklahoma to aid in the treatment of 
persons with addiction.  
Oklahoma	Bureau	of	Narcotics	and	Dangerous	Drugs	has	prescription	monitoring	
programs that may be helpful in dealing with prescription medication misuse 
issues.  
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Legal Aspects

How	does	Oklahoma	define	the	problem?		Until	recently	there	was	not	a	clear,	
universal definition of an newborn born substance exposed.  Federal guidelines 
in the Child Abuse and Prevention and Treatment Act (CAPTA) require states to 
develop policies and procedures to address the needs of newborns affected by illegal 
substance abuse, withdrawal symptoms, or fetal alcohol spectrum disorder.  With 
the	passage	of	House	Bill	2251	effective	November	1,	2012,	Oklahoma	will	define	
a “drug endangered child” as codified in Section 1-1-105(22) of Title 10A of the 
Oklahoma	Statutes.		In	addition,	this	Bill	provides	that	when	a	report	is	received	
on a child who meets the definition of a “drug endangered child” or who has been 
diagnosed with fetal alcohol syndrome, OKDHS must conduct an investigation per 
Section 1-2-102(A)(3) of Title 10A of the Oklahoma Statutes.
Included in the legal definition of what constitutes a “deprived child” is a child 
in need of special care and treatment per Section 1-1-105(20)(a) of Title 10A of 
the Oklahoma Statutes. As used in this definition, a child in need of special care 
and treatment includes, but is not limited to, a child who at birth tests positive for 
alcohol or a controlled dangerous substance and who, pursuant to a drug or alcohol 
screen of the child and an assessment of the parent, is determined to be at risk of 
harm or threatened harm to the health or safety of a child.
Section	1-2-101(B)(2)	of	Title	10A	of	the	Oklahoma	Statutes	requires	every	physician	
or health care professional attending the birth of a child who tests positive for 
alcohol or a controlled dangerous substance to promptly report the matter to 
OKDHS.  Medical professionals must consider the consent issues and medical 
necessity associated with testing a patient for illegal substances.  This issue must be 
explored further because it is an issue that must be addressed through a consistent, 
collaborative approach. 

The Work Group

A work group was established with representation from different disciplines, 
including OCCY, Oklahoma Health Care Authority, OSDH, Chief Child Abuse 
Examiner	in	Oklahoma,	OUHSC	Office	of	Perinatal	Quality	Improvement	and	
OKDHS to establish consistent definitions and strategies to address the issue of 
newborns who are born substance exposed.  The work group met on March 30, 2012 
and May 4, 2012.
The work group agreed the purpose of intervention is the treatment and prevention 
of substance abuse while providing for the safety of the child.  



Substance Exposed Newborns 5

What Was Learned

Previously, information about whether a child was prenatally exposed to alcohol and 
drugs at birth was recorded on the newborns birth record, that information has been 
removed at the guidance of the federal government in 2003.
Fifty-nine hospitals in Oklahoma deliver babies; one third of them are in metro 
locations.  Women who present at a hospital with the following circumstances are 
more likely to be tested for illegal substances:

•	 Drop	in	deliveries;
•	 No	prenatal	care;
•	 Placental	abruption;
•	 Premature	birth	or	labor;
•	 Physical	signs	of	substance	use;
•	 Self-reported	substance	use;
•	 Maternal	history	of	substance	use;	and
•	 Previous	positive	test.

The most reliable testing mechanism is to 
collect and test the newborn’s meconium.  The 
babies’ meconium test represents a period of 
up to 20 weeks gestation; however, often the 
test results are not received until after the 
newborn has been discharged from the facility. 
The use and misuse of prescription medication 
in Oklahoma has reached an alarming rate 
and must be considered when discussing the 
problem of newborns born substance exposed. 
The type of substance used and the gestational 
age of the developing fetus also impact short 
and long-term outcomes for the child.   
Currently there are no specified interventions 
or services to follow up with the children who 
test positive at birth. 
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Information Sources

In addition to Oklahoma State Statutes, the work group reviewed protocols that 
other states utilized to address the issue of newborns born substance exposed.
Arizona produced a publication titled: Guidelines for Identifying Substance-Exposed 
Newborns in January 2005. 
Washington also addressed the issue in a publication titled:  Guidelines for Testing 
and Reporting Drug Exposed Newborns in Washington State in June 2011.
The American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologist (ACOG) provides 
guidance to medical personnel regarding women using substances during 
pregnancy.  A publication examining the issue of informed consent was released in 
August 2009.  
These publications provide a framework for Oklahoma to build a standardized 
response to newborns who may be substance exposed. 
Oklahoma leads the nation in prescription opiate abuse.

Recommendations 

Based	on	the	information	obtained,	the	following	recommendations	were	developed:

• Oklahoma	establishes	statewide	guidelines	for	professionals	in	providing	
 prevention and treatment to women;
• OKDHS	promulgate	clear	policy	guidelines	for	staff;
• Oklahoma	develop	a	service	array	designed	to	triage	reports	in	order	to	

  educate pregnant mothers, provide treatment options and improve outcomes 
 for newborns;
• Oklahoma	develops	a	centralized,	easily	accessible	site	outlining	services,	

  effects  of prenatal substance use to the unborn child, and provides a 
 confidential referral process;
• Improves	the	data	in	Oklahoma	to	define	the	scope	and	magnitude	of	the	

problem;
• Increases	funding	for	evidence	based	programs	designed	to	strengthen	

families; and
• Increases	funding	for	substance	abuse	treatment.

Other	established	task	forces	and	boards	such	as	the	Perinatal	Quality	Task	Force	or	
the	Board	of	Child	Abuse	Examination	may	be	appropriate	to	assume	the	lead	role	
in the development of protocol for newborns born substance exposed.
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Data available for 2011

According to the Oklahoma State Department of 
Health, the preliminary number of live births in 
Oklahoma for 2011 was 50,672.   
Of the reports received by OKDHS alleging substance 
use by a delivering mother, the preliminary number of 
newborns who tested positive for alcohol or an illegal or 
prescribed substance in calendar year 2011 was 269.  At 
least 25 of the newborns reportedly experienced some 
signs of withdrawal symptoms.  OKDHS continues to 
refine this data. 

OKDHS would like to thank the professionals who assisted in the 
development of these recommendations.  Such critical issues cannot be 
addressed by one state agency.
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