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AMOUNT, DURATION AND SCOPE OF MEDICAL 

AND REMEDIAL CARE AND SERVICES PROVIDED TO THE CATEGORICALLY NEEDY 
24.a Any other medical care and any other type of remedial care recognized under State law and 

specified by the Secretary. 
 
 a 1. Transportation 
  ☐ No limitations 
  ☒ With Limitations 
 

Effective July 1, 2023 the State will provide secure behavioral health transports for members alleged to be 
in a behavioral health crisis requiring transportation to a treatment facility for the purpose of examination, 
emergency detention, protective custody, or inpatient services. Service providers must be ODMHSAS-
designated Qualified Transportation Service Providers (QTSPs) and meet the Uniform Transportation 
Standards for QTSPs, which include the following: 

Requirements for QSTP Drivers:  
A. Must be at least 21 years of age;  
B. Must hold a valid driver's license issued by the State of Oklahoma;  
C. Must undergo a criminal background check and not have been convicted of or received a 
deferred or probated sentence related to any felony crime, a crime involving moral turpitude or a 
crime of domestic violence; and not have any criminal charges pending in ay court in this state, 
another state, in tribal court or pursuant to the United States Code;  
D. Must be able to ensure persons transported are protected from harm and injuries due to abuse, 
self-abuse, neglect, sexual incidents, serious injuries and other sources of immediate danger;  
E. Must be able to provide emergency care or have an established plan to access emergency care;  
F. Must be trained in effective communication skills with persons with mental illness, consumer 
rights, CPR/First Aid, and confidentiality as prescribed by ODMHSAS;  
G. Must be able to recognize and plan for problematic behaviors in a therapeutic and safe manner;  
H. Must be familiar with the statutes and standards related to transporting consumers; and 
I. Unless otherwise certified as a peace officer in Oklahoma, must complete a 16-hour Therapeutic 
Options Course approved by ODMHSAS. 

Requirements for QTSP Vehicles:  
A. Must well maintained and in good mechanical condition;  
B. Must have the following equipment operational:  

i. Air conditioner;  
ii. Heater; and  
iii. Chemical-type fire extinguisher, of at least a one-quart capacity, located in the same 
compartment of the vehicle as the driver. 

C. Must have a safety partition between the driver’s area and the passenger area;  
D. Must have safety locks to prevent a consumer from exiting a car that is in motion;  
E. Must equip car or driver with a two-way radio or cellular telephone that is operational during the 
entire period of transport; and  
F. If transporting individuals in wheelchairs, must be equipped with:  

i. An electrical or hydraulically-operated lift mechanism or a ramp with a non-skid surface;  
ii. A means of securing a wheelchair to the inside of the vehicle to prevent any lateral, 
forward, backward, or vertical motion of the wheelchair within the vehicle;  
iii. A rear-view mirror that enables the driver to view any passenger in a wheelchair; and  
iv. A door at the rear of the vehicle for an emergency exit. 

 
 

New 07-01-23 
TN# 23-0021    Approval Date:     Effective Date: 07-01-23 
 

Kasie McCarty
Moved from Page 9a



 
Supersedes TN# _None



 
State: Oklahoma Attachment 3.1-A 

Page 9a 
AMOUNT, DURATION AND SCOPE OF MEDICAL 

AND REMEDIAL CARE AND SERVICES PROVIDED TO THE CATEGORICALLY NEEDY 
24.a Any other medical care and any other type of remedial care recognized under State law and specified 

by the Secretary. (continued) 
 
 a 1. Transportation 
  ☐ No limitations 
  ☐ With Limitations 
 
 a 2. Brokered Transportation 
  ☒ Provided under section 1902(a)(70) 

 
The State assures it has established a non-emergency medical transportation program in order to more cost-
effectively provide transportation, and can document, upon request from CMS, that the transportation broker 
was procured in compliance with the requirements of 45 CFR 92.36 (b)-(f). The broker is not a governmental 
entity and does not itself provide transportation or refer or subcontract with a transportation broker with whom it 
has a financial relationship. 
 

(1) The State will operate the broker program without the requirements of the following paragraphs of 
section 1902(a); 

☐ (1) statewideness (indicate areas of State that are covered) 
☐ (10)(B) comparability (indicate participating beneficiary groups) 
☒ (23) freedom of choice (indicate mandatory population group) 

(2) Transportation services provided will include: 
☒ wheelchair van 
☒ taxi 
☒ stretcher car 
☒ bus passes 
☒ tickets 
☐ secured transportation 
☒ such other transportation as the Secretary determines appropriate (please describe) – 
Private automobile drivers 

(3) The State assures that transportation services will be provided under a contract with a broker who: 
i. Is selected through a competitive bidding process based on the State’s evaluation of the 

broker’s experience, performance, references, resources, qualifications, and costs; 
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METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR ESTABLISHING PAYMENT RATES 
OTHER TYPES OF CARE 

 
Transportation (continued) 
 

D. Access Payment Program Fee for Emergency Ambulance Service Providers (continued) 
 

2.   Ambulance Service Provider Access Payment (continued) 
 
The access payment is comprehensive and does not exceed 100% of the difference between 
Medicaid payments otherwise made to eligible providers for the provision of medical 
transportation services and the average amount that would have been paid at the equivalent 
ACR. 
 
The ambulance service provider medical transportation access payments are to supplement, not 
supplant, appropriations to support ambulance service provider reimbursement. Payments may 
not be used to offset any other payment by Medicaid for services to Medicaid beneficiaries. 
 

 
 

E. Secure Behavioral Health Transports 
 

Providers of secure behavioral health transports will be paid on a fee-for-service basis through encounter 
payments and a combination of encounter payments and a set rate per mile as follows: 

 
1. Transports 30 miles and under will be reimbursed $160.00 per encounter, equal to 68.83% of the 

CY 2021 rate for A0429. 
 

2. Transports over 30 miles will be reimbursed $160.00 per encounter, equal to 68.83% of the CY 
2021 rate for A0429, and $2.85 per mile, equal to 38.10% of the CY 2021 rate for A0425. 
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