TI TLE 317. OKLAHOVA HEALTH CARE AUTHORI TY
CHAPTER 35. MEDI CAL ASSI STANCE FOR ADULTS
AND CHI LDREN-ELI G BI LI TY
SUBCHAPTER 9. | CF/ MR, HCBW MR, AND | NDI VI DUALS
AGE 65 OR OLDER | N MENTAL HEALTH HOSPI TALS
PART 2. MEDI CAl D RECOVERY PROGRAM

317:35-9-15. Medicaid recovery

(@) General overview. The Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of

1993 mandates the State to seek recovery against th
certain Title XIX members who received medical care
July 1, 1994, and who were 55 years of age or older
was received. The payment of Title XIX by the Okla
Authority (OHCA) on behalf of a member who is an in
nursing facility, intermediate care facility for th
retarded or other medical institution creates a deb
subject to recovery by legal action either in the f
filed against the real property of the member and/o
against the estate of the member. Only Title XIX r
after July 1, 1994, will be subject to provisions o
Recovery for payments made under Title XIX for nurs
limited by several factors, including the family co
time the lien is imposed and/or at the time of the
and by the creation of undue hardship at the time t
imposed or the claim is made against the estate. |
5-41.8(a)(3)(H) for consideration of home property
resource.] State Supplemental Payments are not con
determining the countable income. The types of med
which recovery can be sought include:

(1) nursing facility services;

(2) home and community based services;

(3) related hospital services;

(4) prescription drug services;

(5) physician services; and

(6) transportation services.
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(b) Recovery through lien. The Oklahoma Health Care Authority

(OHCA) may file and enforce a lien, after notice an

d opportunity

for a hearing (OKDHS—willconduct—-hearingsy——, against the real

property of a member who is an inpatient in a nursi
ICF/MR or other medical institution in certain inst
(1) Exceptions to filing a lien.

(A) A lien may not be filed on the home property if

member's family includes:
(i) a surviving spouse residing in the home;
(i) a child or children age 20 or less lawfully re
in the home ;

(iif) a disabled child or children of any age lawfu

residing in the home; or
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lly



(iv) a brother or sister of the member who has an e quity

interest in the home and has been residing in the h ome for
at least one year immediately prior to the member's
admission to the nursing facility and who has conti nued to
live there on a continuous basis since that time.
(B) If an individual covered under an Oklahoma Long -term Care
Partnership Program approved policy received benefi ts for
which assets or resources were disregarded as provi ded for in
OAC 317:35-5-41.9, the Oklahoma Health Care Authori ty will
not seek recovery from the individual for the amoun t of

assets or resources disregarded.
(2) Reasonabl e expectation to return hone. A lien may be filed

only after it has been determined, after notice and opportunity
for a hearing, that the member cannot reasonably be expected to
be discharged and return to the home. To return ho me means the
member leaves the nursing facility and resides in t he home on
which the lien has been placed for a period of at | east 90 days
without being re-admitted as an inpatient to a faci lity
providing nursing care. Hospitalizations of short duration that

do not include convalescent care are not counted in the 90 day
period. Upon certification for Title XIX for nursi ng care,
OKDHS provides written notice to the member that a one-year
period of inpatient care constitutes a determinatio n by the
OKDHS that there is no reasonable expectation that the member
will be discharged and return home for a period of at least 90
days. The member or the member's representative is asked to
declare intent to return home by signing the OKDHS Form
08MAO024E, Acknowledgment of Intent to Return Home/M edicaid
Recovery Program. Intent is defined here as a clea r statement
of plans in addition to other evidence and/or corro borative
statements of others. Should the intent be to retu rn home, the
member must be informed that a one-year period of ¢ are at a
nursing facility or facilities constitutes a determ ination that
the member cannot reasonably be expected to be disc harged and
return home. When this determination has been made , the member
receives a notice and opportunity for hearing. This notification
occurs prior to filing of a lien. At the end of th e 12-month
period, a lien may be filed against the member's re al property
unless medical evidence is provided to support the feasibility

of his/her returning to the home within a reasonabl e period of
time (90 days). This 90-day period is allowed only if
sufficient medical evidence is presented with an ac tual date for

the return to the home.
(3) Undue hardshi p wai ver. When enforcing a lien or a recovery

from an estate [see (c) of this Section] would crea te an undue
hardship, a waiver may be granted. Undue hardship exists when
enforcing the lien would deprive the individual of medical care
such that the individual's health or life would be endangered.
Undue hardship exists when application of the rule would deprive
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the individual or family members who are financiall y dependent

on him/her for food, clothing, shelter, or other ne cessities of
life. Undue hardship does not exist, however, when the
individual or his/her family is merely inconvenienc ed or when
their lifestyle is restricted because of the lien o I estate
recovery being enforced. Decisions on undue hardsh ip waivers
are made at OKDHS State Office, Family Support Serv ices
Division, Health Related and Medical Services Secti on. Upon
applying for an undue hardship waiver, an individua I will
receive written notice, in a timely process, whethe r an undue
hardship waiver will be granted. If an undue hards hip waiver is
not granted, the individual will receive written no tice of the
process under which an adverse determination can be appealed.
The OHCA Legal Division staff will receive notifica tion on all

undue hardship waiver decisions.
(4) Filing the lien. After it has been determined that the

member cannot reasonably be expected to be discharg ed from the
nursing facility and return home and the member has been given
notice of an intent to file a lien against the real property and
an opportunity for a hearing on the matter, a lien is filed by
the Oklahoma Health Care Authority, Third Party Lia bility Unit,
for record against the legal description of the rea | property in
the office of the county clerk of the county in whi ch the
property is located. A copy of the lien is sent by OHCA to the
member or his/her representative. The lien must co ntain the
following information:
(A) the name and mailing address of the member, spo use, legal
guardian, authorized representative, or individual acting on
behalf of the member;
(B) the amount of Title XIX paid at the time of the filing of
the lien and a statement that the lien amount will continue
to increase by any amounts paid thereafter for Titl e XIX on
the member's behalf;
(C) the date the member began receiving compensated inpatient
care at a nursing facility or nursing facilities,
intermediate care facility for the mentally retarde d or other
medical institution;
(D) the legal description of the real property agai nst which
the lien will be recorded; and
(E) the address of the Oklahoma Health Care Authori ty.
(5) Enforcing the lien. The lien filed by OHCA for Title XIX
correctly received may be enforced before or after the death of
the member. But it may be enforced only:
(A) after the death of the surviving spouse of the member or
until such time as the surviving spouse abandons th e
homestead to reside elsewhere;
(B) when there is no child of the member, natural o r adopted,
who is 20 years of age or less residing in the home ;
(C) when there is no adult child of the member, nat ural or
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(c)

(6)

adopted, who is blind or disabled, as defined in OA

1-2, residing in the home;

(D) when no brother or sister of the member is lawf
residing in the home, who has resided there for at

year immediately before the date of the member's ad

the nursing facility, and has resided there on a co

basis since that time; and

(E) when no son or daughter of the member is lawful
residing in the home who has resided there for at |
years immediately before the date of the member's a

to the nursing facility, and establishes to the sat

of the OKDHS that he or she provided care to the me
permitted the member to reside at home rather than
institution and has resided there on continuous bas

that time.

Di ssol ving the |ien. The lien remains on the property even

after transfer of title by conveyance, sale, succes
inheritance or will unless one of the following eve

(7)

(A) The lien is satisfied. @~ The member or member's
representative may discharge the lien at any time b
the amount of lien to the OHCA. Should the payment
debt secured by the lien be made to the county offi
payment is forwarded to OHCA/Third Party Liability,
the lien can be released within 50 days. After tha
the member or the member's representative may reque
writing that it be done. This request must describ
and the property with reasonable certainty. By stat
fine may be levied against the lien holder if it is
released in a timely manner.
(B) The member leaves the nursing facility and resi
property to which the lien is attached, for a perio
than 90 days without being re-admitted to a facilit
providing nursing care, even though there may have
reasonable expectation that this would occur. If t
is re-admitted to a nursing facility during this pe
does return to his/her home after being released, a
days must be completed before the lien can be disso
Capi tal resources. Rules on the determination of capital

resources for individuals related to the aged, blin
disabled (See OAC 317:35-5-41 through 317:35-5-41.7
the proceeds received for the property in excess of
of the lien after the lien is satisfied.

Recovery from est at es.
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(1) If the member was age 55 or older when the nurs

received, adjustment or recovery may be made only a

death of the individual's spouse, if any, and at a
there are no surviving children age 20 or less and
disabled children of any age living in the home.
Statutes contain stringent time frames concerning w

claims against an estate in probate are filed and p

Therefore, timely updating of computer input forms
the death of the member is crucial to insure the OH

to file timely against the estate.

(2) The estate consists of all real and personal pr
other assets included in member's estate as defined
of the Oklahoma Statutes. Although county staff or
not be responsible for inventorying or assessing th

assets and property that are not considered in dete

eligibility should be documented in the case record
(3) After updating of computer input form indicatin
death, a computer generated report is sent to OHCA/
Liability (TPL). This report will serve as notific
OHCA/TPL to initiate estate recovery.

(4) Undue hardship waivers may be granted for estat
provided in (b)(3) of the Section.

(5) If an individual covered under an Oklahoma Long
Partnership Program approved policy received benefi

assets or resources were disregarded as provided fo

317:35-5-41.9, the Oklahoma Health Care Authority w
recovery from the individual's estate for the amoun
or resources disregarded.
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SUBCHAPTER 19. NURSI NG FACI LI TY SERVI CES

317:35-19-4. Medicaid recovery

(@) Ceneral overview. The Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of

1993 mandates the state to seek recovery against th
certain Title XIX members who received medical care
July 1, 1994, and who were 55 years of age or older
was received. The payment of Title XIX by the Okla
Authority (OHCA) on behalf of a member who is an in
nursing facility, intermediate care facility for th
retarded or other medical institution creates a deb
subject to recovery by legal action either in the f

filed against the real property of the member and/o
against the estate of the member. Only Title XIX r
after July 1, 1994, will be subject to provisions o
Recovery for payments made under Title XIX for nurs
limited by several factors, including the family co

time the lien is imposed and/or at the time of the

and by the creation of undue hardship at the time t
imposed or the claim is made against the estate. |
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5-41.8(a)(3)(H) for consideration of home property as a countable
resource.] State Supplemental Payments are not con sidered when
determining the countable income. The types of med ical care for
which recovery can be sought include:

(1) nursing facility services,

(2) home and community based services,

(3) related hospital services,

(4) prescription drug services,

(5) physician services, and

(6) transportation services.
(b) Recovery through |ien. The Oklahoma Health Care Authority

(OHCA) may file and enforce a lien, after notice an d opportunity
for a hearing, (OKDHS—will-conducthearings)———— against the real
property of a member who is an inpatient in a nursi ng facility,
ICF/MR or other medical institution in certain inst ances.
(1) Exceptions to filing a lien.
(A) A lien may not be filed on the home property if the

member's family includes:
(i) a surviving spouse residing in the home;

(i) a child or children age 20 or less lawfully re siding
in the home,;
(iif) a disabled child or children of any age lawfu lly
residing in the home; or
(iv) a brother or sister of the member who has an e quity
interest in the home and has been residing in the h ome for
at least one year immediately prior to the member's
admission to the nursing facility and who has conti nued to
live there on a continuous basis since that time.
(B) If an individual covered under an Oklahoma Long -Term Care
Partnership Program approved policy received benefi ts for
which assets or resources were disregarded as provi ded for in
OAC 317:35-5-41.9, the Oklahoma Health Care Authori ty will
not seek recovery from the individual for the amoun t of

assets or resources disregarded.
(2) Reasonabl e expectation to return hone. Alien may be filed

only after it has been determined, after notice and opportunity
for a hearing, that the member cannot reasonably be expected to
be discharged and return to the home. To return ho me means the
member leaves the nursing facility and resides in t he home on
which the lien has been placed for a period of at | east 90 days
without being re-admitted as an inpatient to a faci lity
providing nursing care. Hospitalizations of short duration that

do not include convalescent care are not counted in the 90 day
period. Upon certification for Title XIX for nursi ng care,
OKDHS provides written notice to the member that a one-year
period of inpatient care constitutes a determinatio n by the
OKDHS that there is no reasonable expectation that the member
will be discharged and return home for a period of at least
three months. The member or the member's represent ative is
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asked to declare intent to return home by signing t

08MAO024E, Acknowledgment of Intent to Return Home/M
Recovery Program. Intent is defined here as a clea

of plans in addition to other evidence and/or corro
statements of others. Should the intent be to retu

member must be informed that a one-year period of c
nursing facility or facilities constitutes a determ

the member cannot reasonably be expected to be disc

return home. When this determination has been made

receives a notice and opportunity for hearing. Thi
notification occurs prior to filing of a lien. At

the 12-month period, a lien may be filed against th

real property unless medical evidence is provided t

feasibility of his/her returning to the home within

period of time (90 days). This 90-day period is al

sufficient medical evidence is presented with an ac

the return to the home.
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(3) Undue hardshi p wai ver. When enforcing a lien or a recovery

from an estate [see (C) of this Section] would crea
hardship, a waiver may be granted. Undue hardship
enforcing the lien would deprive the individual of

such that the individual's health or life would be

Undue hardship exists when application of the rule

the individual or family members who are financiall

on him/her for food, clothing, shelter, or other ne

life. Undue hardship does not exist, however, wher
individual or his/her family is merely inconvenienc
their lifestyle is restricted because of the lien o
recovery being enforced. Decisions on undue hardsh

are made at OKDHS State Office, Family Support Serv

Division, Health Related and Medical Services Secti
applying for an undue hardship waiver, an individua
receive written notice, in a timely process, whethe
hardship waiver will be granted. If an undue hards

not granted, the individual will receive written no

process under which an adverse determination can be
The OHCA Legal Division staff will receive notifica

undue hardship waiver decisions.

(4 Filing the lien.
member cannot reasonably be expected to be discharg
nursing facility and return home and the member has
notice of the intent to file a lien against the rea

and an opportunity for a hearing on the matter, a |

by the Oklahoma Health Care Authority, Third Party
Unit, for record against the legal description of t
property in the office of the county clerk of the ¢
which the property is located. A copy of the lien

OHCA to the member or his/her representative. The |
contain the following information:
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(A) the name and mailing address of the member, mem
spouse, legal guardian, authorized representative,
individual acting on behalf of the member,

(B) the amount of Title XIX paid at the time of the

the lien and a statement that the lien amount will

to increase by any amounts paid thereafter for XIX
member's behalf,

(C) the date the member began receiving compensated
care at a nursing facility or nursing facilities,
intermediate care facility for the mentally retarde

medical institution,

(D) the legal description of the real property agai

the lien will be recorded, and

(E) the address of the Oklahoma Health Care Authori

(5) Enforcing the |ien. The lien filed by the OHCA for Title
ter the death

XIX correctly received may be enforced before or af

of the member. But it may be enforced only:
(A) after the death of the surviving spouse of the
until such time as the surviving spouse abandons th
homestead to reside elsewhere;
(B) when there is no child of the member, natural o
who is 20 years of age or less residing in the home
(C) when there is no adult child of the member, nat
adopted, who is blind or disabled as defined in, OA
1-2 residing in the home;
(D) when no brother or sister of the member is lawf
residing in the home, who has resided there for at
year immediately before the date of the member's ad
the nursing facility, and has resided there on a co
basis since that time; and
(E) when no son or daughter of the member is lawful
residing in the home who has resided there for at |
years immediately before the date of the member's a
to the nursing facility, and establishes to the sat
of the OKDHS that he or she provided care to the me
permitted the member to reside at home rather than
institution and has resided there on continuous bas
that time.

(6) Dissolving the |ien. The lien remains on the property even

after transfer of title by conveyance, sale, succes
inheritance or will unless one of the following eve
(A) The lien is satisfied.
representative may discharge the lien at any time b
the amount of lien to the OHCA. Should the paymen
debt secured by the lien be made to the county offi
payment is forwarded to OHCA/Third Party Liability,
the lien can be released within 50 days. After tha
the member or the member's representative may reque
writing that it be done. This request must describ
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()

and the property with reasonable certainty. By sta
fine may be levied against the lien holder if it is
released in a timely manner.

(B) The member leaves the nursing facility and resi
property to which the lien is attached, for a perio

than 90 days without being re-admitted to a facilit

providing nursing care, even though there may have
reasonable expectation that this would occur. Ift

is re-admitted to a nursing facility during this pe

does return to his/her home after being released, a
days must be completed before the lien can be disso
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(7) Capital resources. Rules on the determination of capital

resources for individuals related to the aged, blin
disabled (See OAC 317:35-5-41 through 317:35-5-41.7
the proceeds received for the property in excess of
of the lien after the lien is satisfied.

Recovery from est at es.
(1) If the member was age 55 or older when the nurs
received, adjustment or recovery may be made only a
death of the individual's spouse, if any, and at a
there are no surviving children age 20 or less and
disabled children of any age living in the home. O
Statutes contain stringent time frames concerning w

claims against an estate in probate are filed and p

Therefore, timely updating of computer input forms
the death of the member is crucial to insure the OH

to file timely against the estate.

(2) The estate consists of all real and personal pr
other assets included in member's estate as defined

of the Oklahoma Statutes. Although county staff or

not be responsible for inventorying or assessing th
assets and property that are not considered in dete
eligibility should be documented in the case record
(3) After updating of computer input form indicatin
death, a computer generated report is sent to OHCA/
Liability (TPL). This report will serve as notific
OHCA/TPL to initiate estate recovery.

(4) Undue hardship waivers may be granted for estat
provided in (b)(3) of the Section.

(5) If an individual covered under an Oklahoma Long
Partnership Program approved policy received benefi
assets or resources were disregarded as provided fo
317:35-5-41.9, the Oklahoma Health Care Authority w
recovery from the individual's estate for the amoun

or resources disregarded.
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