CHAPTER 30. MEDICAL PROVIDERS-FEE FOR SERVICE
SUBCHAPTER 5. INDIVIDUAL PROVIDERS AND SPECIALTIES
PART 9. LONG TERM CARE FACILITIES

317:30-5-126. Therapeutic leave and Hospital leave

Therapeutic leave is any planned leave other than
hospitalization that is for the benefit of the patient. Hospital
leave i1s planned or unplanned leave when the patient iIs admitted to
a licensed hospital. Therapeutic leave must be clearly documented
in the patient®"s plan of care before payment for a reserved bed can
be made.

(1) Effective July 1, 1994, the nursing facility may receive

payment for a maximum of seven (7) days of therapeutic leave per

calendar year for each recipient to reserve the bed. Claims for

therapeutic leave are to be submitted on Form Adm-41 (Long Term

Care Claim Form).

41 (Long Term Care Claim Form).

) (2) Effective January 1, 1996, the nursing facility may
receive payment for a maximum of five €5) days of hospital leave
per calendar year for each recipient to reserve the bed when the
patient is admitted to a licensed hospital.

€4 (3) The Intermediate Care Facility for the Mentally Retarded
(1ICF/MR) may receive payment for a maximum of 60 days of
therapeutic leave per calendar year for each recipient to
reserve a bed. No more than 14 consecutive days of therapeutic
leave may be claimed per absence. Recipients approved for
ICF/MR on or after July 1 of the year will only be eligible for
30 days of therapeutic leave during the remainder of that year.
Claims for therapeutic leave are to be submitted on Form Adm-41.
€5) (4) Midnight is the time used to determine whether a patient
iIs present or absent from the facility. The day of discharge
for therapeutic leave is counted as the first day of leave, but
the day of return from such leave is not counted. For hospital
leave, the day of hospital admission is the Tirst day of leave.
The day the patient is discharged from the hospital 1s not
counted as a leave day.

€6) (5) Therapeutic and hospital leave balances are recorded on
the Medicaid Management Information System (MMIS) recipient
record based on the Form Adm-41 submitted by the facility. When
a patient moves to another facility, it is the responsibility of
the transferring facility to forward the patient®s leave records



to the receiving facility. Forms are available iIn the local
county BHS OKDHS office.

317:30-5-131.2. Quality of care fund requirements and report
(a) Definitions. The following words and terms, when used In this
Section, have the following meaning, unless the context clearly
indicates otherwise:
(1) "Nursing Facility and Intermediate Care Facility for the
mentally retarded”™ means any home, establishment, or institution
or any portion thereof, licensed by the State Department of
Health as defined in Section 1-1902 of Title 63 of the Oklahoma
Statutes.
(2) "Quality of Care Fee" means the fee assessment created for
the purpose of quality care enhancements pursuant to Section
2002 of Title 56 of the Oklahoma Statutes upon each nursing
facility and intermediate care Tacility fTor the mentally
retarded licensed in this State.
(3) "Quality of Care Fund™ means a revolving fund established in
the State Treasury pursuant to Section 2002 of Title 56 of the
Oklahoma Statutes.
(4) "Quality of Care Report” means the monthly report developed
by the Oklahoma Health Care Authority to document the staffing
ratios, total patient gross receipts, total patient days, and
minimum wage compliance for specified staff for each nursing
facility and intermediate care facility for the mentally
retarded licensed in the State.
(5) "'Staffing ratios” means the minimum direct-care-staff-to-
resident ratios pursuant to Section 1-1925.2 of Title 63 of the
Oklahoma Statutes and pursuant to OAC 310:675-1 et seq.
(6) "Peak In-House Resident Count™ means the maximum number of
in-house residents at any point in time during the applicable
shift.
(7) "Staff Hours worked by Shift" means the number of hours
worked during the applicable shift by direct-care staff.
(8) "Direct-Care Staff" means any nursing or therapy staff who
provides direct, hands-on care to residents In a nursing
facility and intermediate care Tfacility for the mentally
retarded pursuant to Section 1-1925.2 of Title 63 of the
Oklahoma Statues, pursuant to OAC 310:675-1 et seq., and as
defined iIn subsection (c) of this Section.
(9) "Major Fraction Thereof" 1is defined as an additional
threshold for direct-care-staff-to-resident ratios at which
another direct-care staff person(s) iIs required due to the peak
in-house resident count exceeding one-half of the minimum
direct-care-staff-to-resident ratio pursuant to Section 1-1925.2
of Title 63 of the Oklahoma Statutes.
(10) "Minimum wage' means the amount paid per hour to specified



staff pursuant to Section 5022.1 of Title 63 of the Oklahoma
Statutes.

(11) "Specified staff” means the employee positions listed in
the Oklahoma Statutes under Section 5022.1 of Title 63 and as
defined iIn subsection (d) of this Section.

(12) "Total Patient Days™ means the monthly patient days that
are compensable for the current monthly Quality of Care Report.
(13) "Total Gross Receipts”™ means all cash received iIn the
current Quality of Care Report month for services rendered to

all residents in the facility. Receipts should include all
Medicaid, Medicare, Private Pay and Insurance including receipts
for items not iIn the normal per diem rate. Charitable

contributions received by the nursing facility are not included.
(14) Service rate”™ means the minimum direct-care-staff-to-
resident rate pursuant to Section 1-1925.2 of Title 63 of
Oklahoma Statutes and pursuant to OAC 310:675-1 et seq.

(b) Quality of care fund assessments.
(1) The Oklahoma Health Care Authority (OHCA) was mandated by
the Oklahoma Legislature to assess a monthly service fee to each
Licensed Nursing Facility in the State. The fee iIs assessed on
a per patient day basis. The amount of the fee i1s uniform for
each facility type. The fee is determined as six percent (6%)
of the average total gross receipts divided by the total days
for each facility type.
(2) In determination of the fee for the time period beginning
October 1, 2000, a survey was mailed to each licensed nursing
facility requesting calendar year 1999 Total Patient Days, Gross
Revenues and Contractual Allowances and Discounts. This data is
used to determine the amount of fee to be assessed for the
period of 10-01-00 through 06-30-01. The fee is determined by
totaling the ™"annualized"” gross revenue and dividing by the
"annualized” total days of service. "Annualized" means that the
surveys received that do not cover the whole year of 1999 are
divided by the total number of days that are covered and
multiplied by 365.
(3) The fee for subsequent State Fiscal Years is determined by
using the monthly gross receipts and census reports for the six
month period October 1 through March 31 of the prior fiscal
year, annualizing those figures, and then determining the fee as
defined above. As per 56 0.S. Section 202, as amended, the fees
are frozen at the amount in effect at July 1, 2004. Also, the
fee will be monitored to never surpass the federal maximum of
5.5%.
(4) Monthly reports of Gross Receipts and Census are included in
the monthly Quality of Care Report. The data required includes,
but is not limited to, the Total Gross Receipts and Total
Patient Days for the current monthly report.




(5) The method of collection is as follows:
(A) The Oklahoma Health Care Authority assesses each facility
monthly based on the reported patient days from the Quality
of Care Report fTiled two months prior to the month of the fee
assessment billing. As defined In this subsection, the total
assessment is the fee times the total days of service. The
Oklahoma Health Care Authority notifies the facility of its
assessment by the end of the month of the Quality of Care
Report submission date.
(B) Payment is due to the Oklahoma Health Care Authority by
the 10" of the following month. Failure to pay the amount
by the 10™ or failure to have the payment mailing postmarked
by the 8™ will result in a debt to the State of Oklahoma and
is subject to penalties of 10% of the amount and interest of
1.25% per month. The Quality of Care Fee must be submitted
no later than the 10™ of the month. If the 10" falls upon a
holiday or weekend (Saturday-Sunday), the fee i1s due by 5
p.m. (Central Standard Time) of the following business day
(Monday-Friday).
(C) The monthly assessment including applicable penalties and
interest must paid regardless of any appeals action requested
by the facility. |If a provider fails to pay the Authority
the assessment within the time frames noted on the second
invoice to the provider, the assessment, applicable penalty,
and interest will be deducted from the facility=s payment.
Any change i1n payment amount resulting from an appeals
decision will be adjusted in future payments. Adjustments to
prior months= reported amounts for gross receipts or patient
days may be made by filing an amended part C of the Quality
of Care Report.
(D) The Quality of Care fee assessments excluding penalties
and interest are an allowable cost for Oklahoma Health Care
Authority Cost Reporting purposes.
(E) The Quality of Care fund contains assessments collected
excluding penalties and 1iInterest as described 1iIn this
subsection and any interest attributable to investment of any
money in the fund must be deposited in a revolving fund
established In the State Treasury. The funds will be used
pursuant to Section 2002 of Title 56 of the Oklahoma
Statutes.

(c) Quality of care direct-care-staff-to resident-ratios.

(1) Effective September 1, 2000, all nursing facilities and

intermediate care facilities for the mentally retarded (ICFs/MR)

subject to the Nursing Home Care Act, iIn addition to other state

and federal staffing requirements, must maintain the minimum

direct-care-staff-to-resident ratios or direct-care service

rates as cited iIn Section 1-1925.2 of Title 63 of the Oklahoma

Statutes and pursuant to OAC 310:675-1 et seq.
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(2) For purposes of staff-to-resident ratios, direct-care staff
are limited to the following employee positions:
(A) Registered Nurse
(B) Licensed Practical Nurse
(C) Nurse Aide
(D) Certified Medication Aide
(E) Qualified Mental Retardation Professional (ICFs/MR only)
(F) Physical Therapist
(G) Occupational Therapist
(H) Respiratory Therapist
(1) Speech Therapist
(J) Therapy Aide/Assistant
(K) Social Services Director/Social Worker
(L) Other Social Services Staff
(M) Activities Director
(N) Other Activities Staff
(0) Combined Social Services/Activities
(3) Prior to September 1, 2003, activity and social services
staff who are not providing direct, hands-on care may be
included in the direct-care-staff-to-resident ratio In any shift
or direct-care service rates. On and after September 1, 2003,
such persons are not included in the direct-care-staff-to-
resident ratio or direct-care service rates.
(4) In any shift when the direct-care-staff-to-resident ratio
computation results In a major fraction thereof, direct-care
staff Is rounded to the next higher whole number.
(5) To document and report compliance with the provisions of
this subsection, nursing Tacilities and intermediate care
facilities for the mentally retarded must submit the monthly
Quality of Care Report pursuant to subsection (e) of this
Section.
(d) Quality of care minimum wage for specified staff. Effective
November 1, 2000, all nursing facilities and private intermediate
care fTacilities for the mentally retarded receiving Medicaid
payments, iIn addition to other federal and state regulations, must
pay specified staff not less than in the amount of $6.65 per hour.
Employee positions included for purposes of minimum wage Tfor
specified staff are as follows:
(1) Registered Nurse
(2) Licensed Practical Nurse
(3) Nurse Aide
(4) Certified Medication Aide
(5) Other Social Service Staff
(6) Other Activities Staff
(7) Combined Social Services/Activities
(8) Other Dietary Staff
(9) Housekeeping Supervisor and Staff
(10) Maintenance Supervisor and Staff
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(11) Laundry Supervisor and Staff
(e) Quality of care reports. Effective September 1, 2000, all
nursing Tacilities and intermediate care Tacilities for the
mentally retarded must submit a monthly report developed by the
Oklahoma Health Care Authority, the Quality of Care Report, for the
purposes of documenting the extent to which such facilities are
compliant with the minimum direct-care-staff-to-resident ratios or
direct-care service rates.
(1) The monthly report must be signed by the preparer and by the
Owner, authorized Corporate Officer or Administrator of the
facility for verification and attestation that the reports were
compiled in accordance with this section.
(2) The Owner or authorized Corporate Officer of the facility
must retain full accountability for the report®"s accuracy and
completeness regardless of report submission method.
(3) Penalties for false statements or misrepresentation made by
or on behalf of the provider are provided at 42 U.S.C. Section
1320a-7b which states, iIn part, "Whoever...(2) at any time
knowingly and willfully makes or causes to be made any false
statement of a material fact for use in determining rights to
such benefit or payment...shall (i) 1n the case of such
statement, representation, concealment, failure, or conversion
by any person in connection with furnishing (by that person) of
items or services for which payment is or may be made under this
title (42 U.S.C. '1320 et seq.), be guilty of a felony and upon
conviction thereof fined not more than $25,000 or imprisoned for
not more than five years or both, or (ii) in the case of such a
statement, representation, concealment, failure or conversion by
any other person, be guilty of a misdemeanor and upon conviction
thereof fined not more than $10,000 or imprisoned for not more
than one year, or both.™
(4) The Quality of Care Report must be submitted by 5 p.m. (CST)
on the 15 of the following month. If the 15" falls upon a
holiday or a weekend (Saturday-Sunday), the report is due by 5
p-m. (CST) of the following business day (Monday - Friday).
(5) The Quality of Care Report will be made available In an
electronic version for uniform submission of the required data
elements.
(6) Facilities must submit the monthly report either through
electronic mail to the Provider Compliance Audits Unit or send
the monthly report in disk or paper format by certified mail and
pursuant to subsection (e)(14) of this section. The submission
date 1i1s determined by the date and time recorded through
electronic mail or the postmark date and the date recorded on
the certified mail receipt.
(7) Should a facility discover an error in its submitted report
for the previous month only, the facility must provide to the
Provider Compliance Audits Unit written notification with
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adequate, objective and substantive documentation within five
business days following the submission deadline. Any
documentation received after the five business day period will
not be considered in determining compliance and for reporting
purposes by the Oklahoma Health Care Authority.

(8) An initial administrative penalty of $150.00 is imposed upon
the facility for incomplete, unauthorized, or non-timely filing
of the Quality of Care Report. Additionally, a daily
administrative penalty will begin upon the Authority notifying
the facility in writing that the report was not complete or not
timely submitted as required. The $150.00 daily administrative
penalty accrues for each calendar day after the date the
notification 1s received. The penalties are deducted from the
Medicaid facility"s payment. For 100% private pay facilities,
the penalty amount(s) is included and collected iIn the fee
assessment billings process. Imposed penalties for incomplete
reports or non-timely filing are not considered for Oklahoma
Health Care Authority Cost Reporting purposes.

(9) The Quality of Care Report includes, but is not limited to,
information pertaining to the necessary reporting requirements
in order to determine the facility"s compliance with subsections
(b) and (c) of this Section. Such reported information
includes, but is not limited to: staffing ratios; peak in-house
resident count; staff hours worked by shift; total patient days;
available bed days; Medicare bed days; Medicaid bed days; and
total gross receipts;—and-direct-care—servicerates.

(10) Audits may be performed to determine compliance pursuant to
subsections (b), (c) and (d) of this Section.
Announced/unannounced on-site audits of reported information may
also be performed.

(11) Direct-care-staff-to-resident information and on-site audit
findings pursuant to subsection (c), will be reported to the
Oklahoma State Department of Health for their review In order to
determine "willful”™ non-compliance and assess penalties
accordingly pursuant to Title 63 Section 1-1912 through Section
1-1917 of the Oklahoma Statutes. The Oklahoma State Department
of Health informs the Oklahoma Health Care Authority of all
final penalties as required in order to deduct from the Medicaid
facility™s payment. Imposed penalties are not considered for
Oklahoma Health Care Authority Cost Reporting purposes.

(12) It a Medicaid provider is found non-compliant pursuant to
subsection (d) based upon a desk audit and/or an on-site audit,
for each hour paid to specified staff that does not meet the
regulatory minimum wage of $6.65, the facility must reimburse
the employee(s) retroactively to meet the regulatory wage for
hours worked. Additionally, an administrative penalty of $25.00
is imposed for each non-compliant staff hour worked. For
Medicaid fTacilities, a deduction is made to their payment.
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Imposed penalties for non-compliance with minimum wage
requirements are not considered for Oklahoma Health Care
Authority Cost Reporting purposes.

(13) Under OAC 317:2-1-2, Long Term Care facility providers may
appeal the administrative penalty described in (b)(5)(B) and
(e)(8) and (e)(12) of this section.

(14) Facilities that have been authorized by the Oklahoma State
Department of Health (OSDH) to implement flexible staff
scheduling must comply with OAC 310:675-1 et seq.- The
authorized facility are required to complete the flexible staff
scheduling section of Part A of the Quality of Care Report. The
Owner, authorized Corporate Officer or Administrator of the
facility must complete the flexible staff scheduling signature
block, acknowledging their OSDH authorization for Flexible Staff
Scheduling.

317:30-5-132. Cost reports

Each Medicaid-participating long term care facility is required
to submit an annual uniform cost report, designed by OHCA, for the
state fTiscal year just completed. The state fiscal year is July 1
through June 30. The reports must be submitted to the Authority
OHCA on or before the first-dayof -September last day of October of
the subsequent year.

(1) The report must be prepared on the basis of generally

accepted accounting principles and the accrual basis of

accounting, except as otherwise specified in the cost report

instructions.

(2) The cost report—shall-be sighed by —an—ownher,—partner—or

FEi F the Facility. | FFi F ol

report must be filed using the Secure Website. The iInstructions
and data entry screen simulations will be made available on the
OHCA public website under the Provider/Long Term Care
Facility/Cost Reporting options.

(3) When there i1s a change of operation or ownership, the
selling or closing ownership iIs required to file a cost report
for that portion of the fiscal year i1t was in operation. The
successor ownership is correspondingly required to file a cost
report for that portion of the fiscal year it was iIn operation.
These ™"Partial Year Reports”™ must be TfTiled on paper or
electronically by e-mail (nhot on the secure website system) to
the Finance Division of the OHCA on the forms and by the
instructions found on the OHCA public website (see directions as
noted above).

(4) Cost report forms—and Instructions are mailed annually to
each facility before the first of July and are available on the

public website. Fhe—completedForms—are—tobe returned—to—the
Authority, - Attention—Finance Division.
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(5) Normally, all ordinary and necessary expenses net of any
offsets of credits incurred in the conduct of an economical and
efficiently operated business are recognized as allowable.
Allowable costs include all i1tems of Medicaid-covered expense
which nursing fTacilities incur iIn the provision of routine
services. '"Routine services" include, but are not limited to,
regular room, dietary and nursing services, minor medical and
surgical supplies, over-the-counter medications, transportation,
dental examinations, dentures and related services, eye glasses,
routine eye examinations, and the use and maintenance of
equipment and facilities essential to the provision of routine

care. Nursirg—FactHby—cost—report—Forrmat—wirH—inelude—a

Aumber—of —individuals—served- Allowable costs must be
considered reasonable, necessary and proper, and shall include
only those costs that are considered allowable for Medicare
purposes and that are consistent with federal Medicaid
requirements. (The guidelines for allowable costs iIn the
Medicare program are set Torth 1i1n the Medicare Provider
Reimbursement Manual ('PRM'), HCFA-Pub. 15.) Ancillary items
reimbursed outside the nursing facility rate are not included in
the cost report and are not allowable costs.

(6) All reports are subject to on-site audits and are deemed
public records.

317:30-5-134. Nurse Aide Training Reimbursement

(a) Nurse Aide training programs and competency evaluation programs
occur In two settings, a nursing Tfacility setting and private
training courses. Private training includes, but is not limited

to, certified training offered at vocational technical
institutions. This rule outlines payment for training in either
setting.

(b) In the case a nursing facility provides training and competency
evaluation in a program that is not properly certified under
federal law, the Oklahoma Health Care Authority may offset the
nursing facility"s payment for monies paid to the facility for
these programs. Such action shall occur after notification to the
facility of the period of non-certification and the amount of the
payment by the Oklahoma Health Care Authority.

(c) In the case of nurse aide training provided In private training
courses, reimbursement is made to nurse aides who have paid a
reasonable fee for training in a certified training program at the
time training was received. The federal regulations prescribe
applicable rules regarding certification of the program and
certification occurs as a result of certification by the State
Survey Agency. For nurse aides to receive reimbursement for
private training courses, all of the following requirements must be
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met:
(1) the training and competency evaluation program must be
certified at the time the training occurred;
(2) the nurse aide has paid for training;
(3) a reasonable fee was paid for training (however,
reimbursement will not exceed the maximum amount set by the
Oklahoma Health Care Authority);
(4) the Oklahoma Health Care Authority is billed by the nurse
aide receiving the training within 12 months of the completion
of the training;
(5) the nurse aide has passed her or his competency evaluation;
and
(6) the nurse ailde is employed at a SoonerCare contracted
nursing facility as a nurse aide during all or part of the year
after completion of the training and competency evaluation.
(d) If all the conditions iIn subsection (c) are met, then the
Authority will compensate the nurse aide based upon the following
pro-rata formula:
(1) For every month employed in a nursing facility, OHCA will
pay 1/12 of the sum of eligible expenses incurred by the nurse
aide. The term "every month"™ i1s defined as a period of 16 days
or more within one month.
(2) The maximum amount paid by the Oklahoma Health Care
Authority may be set by the Rates and Standards Committee. The
rate paid by the nurse aide, up to the maximum set by the
Oklahoma Health Care Authority, will be paid in the event a
nurse aide was employed all 12 months after completion of the
training program.
(e) The claimant must submit a completed Nurse Aide Training
Reimbursement Program Form and ADM-12 claim voucher. Documentation
of eligible expenses must also be provided. Eligible expenses
include course training fees, textbooks and exam fees.
() No nurse aide trained in a nursing facility program that has an
offer of employment or is employed by the nursing facility iIn any
capacity at the inception of the training program may be charged
for the costs associated with the nurse aide training or competency
evaluation program.
(g) The SoonerCare share of Nurse Aide training and testing costs
incurred by a nursing facility will be reimbursed in the following
manner :
(1) Anndvally Quarterly, the facilities incurring expense and
requesting reimbursement for the Medicaid share of Nurse Aide
Training costs will complete and file a "Nurse Aide Training and
Testing Costs™ report as prescribed by the OHCA. These reports
will be due by October 31 of the yearand -cover—the preceding
StateFiscal Year (Quly—1-toJune-30) the end of the subsequent
month.
(2) From the "Nurse Aide Training and Testing Costs" reports the
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OHCA will determine a cost per day for each facility for the
upeem+ﬁg—rate period (State—F+seal—¥eaF) New-fae+l+t+es—w+ll

3) Eaeh—menth—the The OHCA will pay each facility based on the
prior—months™ reported cost per day applied to the actual

SoonerCare paid days regardless—of -service-date that matches the
period reported by the facility.

(4) Nurse Aide Training Costs are not allowable for cost
reporting purposes.
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