

## STATE CAPITOL PRESERVATION COMMISSION REGULAR MEETING JUNE 17, 2021 OKLAHOMA STATE CAPITOL BUILDING SENATE CONFERENCE RM. 48.9 2300 N. LINCOLN BLVD. OKLAHOMA CITY, OK 73105

MEMBERS PRESENT:	Nancy Leonard Bruce Fisher Deena Fisher Jonathan Fowler C.J. Cavin Doug Kellogg Lou Kerr Duane Mass
	Chris Morriss Darlene Parman James Pickel
MEMBERS ABSENT:	Mariana Lloyd Chip Mullens Dan Ross Jason Sutton
GUESTS:	Beverly Hicks, OMES Karl Kramer, Attorney General's Office Amber Sharples, OK Arts Council, Executive Director Dr. Alan Atkinson, OK Arts Council Jarica Walsh, OK Arts Council Shawn Ashley, eCapitol Andrew McQuade, OMES Mark Ruedy, Senate

# 1. <u>Announcement of filing of the meeting notice and posting of the agenda in accordance with the Open Meeting Act</u>:

Ms. Beverly Hicks, meeting clerk, confirmed that the meeting was in compliance.

#### 2. Determination of quorum and call to order:

Vice-chair Nancy Leonard called this meeting to order at 3:02 p.m. A roll call was taken, and a quorum established. A meeting notice was filed with the Secretary of State and an agenda posted in accordance with the Open Meeting Act.

## 3. <u>Discussion and possible action on the election of a chair of the Capitol Preservation</u> <u>Commission</u>:

James Pickel motioned to re-elect Chip Mullens as the chair. Jonathan Fowler seconded the motion. The following votes were recorded, and the motion passed:

Mr. Cavin, yes; Mr. Fisher, yes; Ms. Fisher, yes; Mr. Fowler, yes; Mr. Kellogg, yes; Ms. Kerr, yes; Ms. Leonard, yes; Mr. Mass, yes; Ms. Morriss, yes; Ms. Parman, yes; Mr. Pickel, yes.

### 4. <u>Discussion and possible action on the election of a vice-chair of the Capitol Preservation</u> <u>Commission</u>:

Jonathan Fowler motioned to re-elect Nancy Leonard as the vice-chair. James Pickel seconded the motion. The following votes were recorded, and the motion passed:

Mr. Cavin, yes; Mr. Fisher, yes; Ms. Fisher, yes; Mr. Fowler, yes; Mr. Kellogg, yes; Ms. Kerr, yes; Ms. Leonard, yes; Mr. Mass, yes; Ms. Morriss, yes; Ms. Parman, yes; Mr. Pickel, yes.

### 5. Discussion and possible action on hybrid meeting minutes of April 15, 2021:

Jonathan Fowler moved to approve the meeting minutes for April. Duane Mass seconded the motion. The following votes were recorded, and the motion passed:

Mr. Cavin, yes; Mr. Fisher, yes; Ms. Fisher, yes; Mr. Fowler, yes; Mr. Kellogg, yes; Ms. Kerr, yes; Ms. Leonard, yes; Mr. Mass, yes; Ms. Morriss, yes; Ms. Parman, yes; Mr. Pickel, yes.

## 6. <u>Discussion and possible action to approve location and bronze monument from the Valley</u> Forge Foundation, affixed to a wall in the Capitol Building, honoring those Oklahomans who were awarded the Medal of Honor in the Armed Forces: [Duane Mass, Capitol Architect and Curator]

Mr. Mass, chair of the Architecture and Grounds Committee, reported that the Committee met prior to this meeting to discuss the inclusion of a monument dedicated to the 34 Medal of Honor winners from the State of Oklahoma and to recommend the preferred location of the monument to be placed in the Supreme Court Hallway within Oklahoma's new Hall of Heroes.

Unfortunately, the congressional office needed more time and was unable to send the artwork with the bronze monument to be considered for action at this meeting. Therefore, the location of the monument is the only item for consideration today by the Commission.

The proposed monument is to honor and recognize those Oklahomans who sacrificed so much for our state and country. The Valley Forge Foundation, who is sponsoring the memorial, will work with the Oklahoma Arts Council, others in the House and with the Commission for final location within the hallway.

The Art Standards Committee unanimously recommended approval of the proposed said location of the monument placement.

Duane Mass moved to approve the future location of the Medal of Honor recognition bronze plaque within the Supreme Court Hallway, which is planned to become Oklahoma's Hall of Heroes. The group sponsoring the memorial will work with the Oklahoma Arts Council and others, including Capitol Preservation Commission (CPC) for a final location within the hall and within a larger master plan for art within this space honoring Oklahoma's heroes. The final physical aesthetic design of the plaque is to be approved at a future CPC meeting prior to installation. C.J. Cavin seconded the motion. The following votes were recorded, and the motion passed:

Mr. Cavin, yes; Mr. Fisher, yes; Ms. Fisher, yes; Mr. Fowler, yes; Mr. Kellogg, yes; Ms. Kerr, yes; Ms. Leonard, yes; Mr. Mass, yes; Ms. Morriss, yes; Ms. Parman, yes; Mr. Pickel, yes.

## 7. <u>Discussion and possible action on review and approval of selected artists for the Art in Public</u> <u>Places project at the Capitol</u>: [James Pickel and Dr. Alan Atkinson, Director of Visual Arts and Capitol Collections and Jarica Walsh, Director of Art in Public Places]

Mr. Pickel, chair of the Art Standards Committee, reported that the Committee met prior to this meeting to review a slate of three artists for three seperate projects in the Capitol, for artist selection only. The concepts and budgets for these projects were presented and approved during the Dec. 17, 2020, Capitol Preservation Commission meeting.

A presentation was given by Jarica Walsh, Director of Art in Public Places for the three artists listed below for recommendation to the Commission.

Capitol Arts in Public Places (AIPP) selected artists for consideration:

Visitors Entrance and Ground Floor Lobby:

Pre-Statehood & Native American History

- Anita Fields (Osage/Muscogee Creek) Lobby Ceramic Artwork.
- Jessica Harjo (Otoe/Osage/Pawnee/Sac and Fox) Lobby Installation Artwork.

#### Second Floor Hall of Governors:

• Mitsuno Reedy – Making her Mark (working title) Lunette Mural, previously commissioned to paint the portrait of Ada Lois Sipuel Fisher for the Capitol Art Collection.

The Art Standards Committee unanimously recommended approval of the three proposed artists to be selected for the approved projects at the Capitol through the Art in Public Places Program (AIPP).

James Pickel moved to approve the three artists as presented by Jarica Walsh. Darlene Parman seconded the motion. The following votes were recorded, and the motion passed:

Mr. Cavin, yes; Mr. Fisher, yes; Ms. Fisher, yes; Mr. Fowler, yes; Mr. Kellogg, yes; Ms. Kerr, yes; Ms. Leonard, yes; Mr. Mass, yes; Ms. Morriss, yes; Ms. Parman, yes; Mr. Pickel, yes.

# 8. <u>Collections manager report</u>: [Dr. Alan Atkinson, Director of Visual Arts and Capitol Collections]

#### Report concerning damage to the small guardian near the visitors entrance -

Dr. Atkinson reported that over the weekend of May 28-29, the nine-foot Guardian statue on the ground floor of the Capitol was run into with a floor cleaning machine driven by an employee of *Thinkability*. One of the feathers was bent slightly out of line. New protocols have been put in place to prevent repetition. Damage will be assessed by professional bronzeworking artisans. Repairs will be effected in a safe and

timely manner. Cost of repairs will be covered by *Thinkability*. An update will be provided to the Commission when a plan is in place for repairs.

Report only. No action taken.

# 9. Chair updates and discussion:

Mr. Mass updated the members on the final construction projects in the Capitol as the restoration project nears the end of completion in the next year. He recognized and gave accolades to the many workers and manhours applied in the restoration project that began in 2014.

Chair Leonard acknowledged and congratulated him, Mr. Kellogg, and all those involved in the oversight of the Capitol restoration.

Report only. No action taken.

# 10. Adjournment:

There being no further business, C.J. Cavin made the motion to adjourn. James Pickel seconded the motion. Seeing no opposition, the meeting adjourned at 3:30 p.m.